Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe as written and it came out great! I did however season my meatloaf mixture with salt and pepper and green onions before forming the loaf. Also if you watch the video Chef John (the recipe submitter) suggests browning the meatloaf in the oven for a while before spooning the sauce over the meatloaf, which I did and it was awesome. Five stars for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTifffni
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This sauce turned my meatloaf into a "gourmet" meatloaf. We even had to drink some wine with the loaf. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
WOW! I LOVE this recipe! I have made it a few times already. Last time I made it without mushrooms, mainly because I forgot them at the grocery store and didn't want to go back. It still came out perfect! I also used ground turkey and chicken broth. As we don't eat red meat or pork. The only other thing I changed was I used half and half, just because that was all we had in stock. It still came out wonderful! Paired it with garlic mashed potatoes and sweet peas! LOOOVE Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LezModel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! Made this shiitake gravy with Chef John's classic meatloaf (replaced the sauce in the classic recipe with this gravy). Meatloaf is my nemesis and I am so happy to say, I won this round! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Fantastic! We prefer more gravy so I tripled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The family really loved this version of meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent! Turned my average venison meatloaf into something special. Didn't adjust the recipe at all and it turned out perfect: rich, creamy, mushroomy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was the best meatloaf I have ever made! I used the Mushroom Meatloaf recipe also from this site and then used this recipe to cook it! Bravo and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the most delicious meatloaf I've ever had! The gravy is to die for! I added to the meat mixture 2 eggs, a sleeve of crushed town house crackers, 1 very thinly sliced shallot, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Shaped it into a loaf and followed Chef John's recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tilegirl220

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used this method with the three meat meatloaf and wow. I used white shrooms, not tasty shitake, so I added about a half tablespoon of smoked peppercorns and the sauce which then had a pleasing, subtle smokey edge. Then I used bbq, ketchup, siracha sauce combo for the top. Also I used 1 t of thyme instead of basil (I was out). Kudos Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States