Creamy Mashed Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I'm thinking that perhaps all the high reviews on this dish are from people who don't regularly make homemade mashed potatoes. I found these to be way too thick, and not nearly seasoned enough. I added twice the amount of ranch dressing mix and still the finished dish was way to bland. I also thought there was too much sour cream resulting in a too sour taste. I did add cheese on top and would do that again. I also added *a lot* of milk to get the proper consistency. Next time I'd either go for triple the ranch dressing, or just add more salt and pepper. But really, I think next time I'll just make standard homemade mashed potatoes...the ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I cut this recipe in half when preparing for just two of us and we had plenty of leftovers to reheat for a treat the next day. Hubby loved them! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made these the day before Thanksgiving and baked them the day of! The ranch flavoring (I used a recipe from this site) really set it apart from other recipes I've tasted before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
MMMMMMM...So good! These are definately a comfort food. I halved the recipe but used double the ranch 1/2 C, and it was just right. I also skipped the baking and they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I wanted to cut back on the carbs a bit and add some veggies, so I did half potatoes and half cauliflower. After I mashed them, I added homemade dry ranch seasoning and 1/4 c. of grated parmesan cheese. This was a hit with everyone, and noone could tell there was cauliflower in it. This dish went really well with my father in law's roast. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Personally I though these were ok but I made them for family dinner night and made a 10 pound bag of potatos and every bit was eaten. Evertone really liked them even my picky son and husband. I would make these again for sure thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mared2chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this recipe as written, and it was great. No need to mess with these ingredients unless you want to. Very easy. Everyone in my family loved it, including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This has been a family favorite for years! Thicker, richer and more flavorful than tradional mashed potatoes,there is no need to measure the ingredients exactly--just add to suit your taste and desired consistency. However, I always use the entire package of the ranch dressing and don't bother with the last step of baking, and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
These potatoes were delicious. My daughter was eating them out of the bowl. I added a little half and half and topped with some cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
GREAT!!!! Made the recipe exactly as written. Served with chopped green onions, needed nothing else. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Fleming See

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States