Creamy Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Very nice.. must try .. but regarding the quantity of the sugar ... please try the mango before adding the sugar .. 1 cup might be too sweet ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREMYLEK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Fabulous! I made this for my husband and a guest, and it knocked their socks off. I would recommend a little salt to balance the sweet, otherwise the recipe is perfect as is. Keep the serving size small, as this is rich. I also cut the corner off the freezer bag, and squeezed the sorbet into a dish rather than scooping, and made for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I changed this a bit. Used 3 mangos, only 1/4 cup of sugar, omitted the ice and added some vanilla. I used my ice-cream maker and it turned out very tasty & creamy. I will use this base to try making other fruit ice-creams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was so good and extremely easy to make. It tastes like the mango sorbet I get from my favorite Japanese restaurant. It had a great creamy consistency; not icey at all. I imagine you can make this with any fruit so long as you have about a cup and a half of it. Before serving, I run the bag under warm water for about 30 seconds and move the contents around a bit more then scoop out with an icecream scooper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This is really excellent. I added a pinch of salt, used only 3/4 c sugar, and 1 tsp lime juice for a bit more zing. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I love mangos and this recipe looked quick and easy. However, I have tried this recipe twice and both times it took more then 45 minutes to freeze to the proper consistency. The great thing about this recipe is that it doesn't matter what type of mangos you use. I prefer the Manila mangos since they are less stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Great recipe- I didn't have cream so I substituted with 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c evaporated milk-- this recipe takes me back to my childhood and getting those icecreams from the cuban restaurants.. I loved it.- very easy-- Thanks so much for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I made mine with what I had on hand: 1 1/2 cups frozen mango chunks, 1/2 cup of honey, a mixture of fat-free half and half and evaporated milk, and water. Three hours later, it was only partially frozen, but it tasted great! If you get impatient, it would make a lovely smoothie (like a mango lassi). I served it with a little nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Yum, I made this with Frozen Peaches (All I had) and it came out wonderful. I used about 2.5 Cups of Peaches and 1/2 Cup Sugar, it was plenty sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was delicious, but I had 3 mangos on hand and feel it could have used another. So, 2 would not have been enough. Plus, it takes a lot longer to freeze than the recipe states. But definitely worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States