Creamy Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was a good ice cream but it becomes somewhat icy once you've stored it in the freezer. I'd recommend eating this as a soft serve, but that's just my preference. I'm more partial to custard type ice creams. I did make this in my ice cream maker too, and it took maybe 15 minutes. Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is amazing! I've never made ice cream before so I was a little nervous about trying this recipe. I was afraid it would come out icy but it wasn't - it was very creamy and delicious! I am giving it 4 stars in place of 5 because it needed 1 tsp vanilla extract since otherwise the cream flavour was too strong. Overall this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made this exactly as stated. - The mango added little bits to the texture and was not smooth at all. The mixture was very liquidy and took a day to solidify. When I took it out - it was too solid to serve so i placed it back into my blender and needed to add some more liquid - so I added a bit of orange juice to get the sorbet moving around the blender. I let it blend a while to smooth out the texture, but the mango bits remained. This was OK but I won't make this again. I prefer the "5 minute ice cream" from this site which is so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
In my world, recipes are usually only guidlines, born out of availability and taste preferences. This was fabulous. I only had 1 mango and no cream. I used my unflavored yogurt and 1/3 C. sugar and only 4 ice cubes. I like a little cardomon with mangos and had just a few pecans,(not enough to use in anything else)so I chopped and added them as well. Tasted great when it when into the freezer. Can't wait till dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the PERFECT light dessert after a heavy steak and potatoes dinner my boyfriend and I made for his parents. Like others have said, it did take a LOT longer than the recipe specified to freeze--even after nearly six hours, it was still quite soft-serve--but provided you plan ahead of time for this, it'll turn out great. We served it in fluted dessert dishes with two of those little Pirouette cookies stuck in each bowl--tasty and elegant! I bet it would be good with many other fruits, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Fabulous! I made this for my husband and a guest, and it knocked their socks off. I would recommend a little salt to balance the sweet, otherwise the recipe is perfect as is. Keep the serving size small, as this is rich. I also cut the corner off the freezer bag, and squeezed the sorbet into a dish rather than scooping, and made for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Never pay $5 again for the fancy packaged sorbet - try this fresh and refreshing recipe. Easy to make and ready within the hour. I layered this with vanilla ice cream using a gingersnap crust. A perfect summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delightful. I couldn't quite get the consistancy but I had alot of people coming in an trying to get a taste of it before it was done, that is probably why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very good flavor. I don't have an ice cream maker, so I followed the directions as stated. It took much longer--nearly the whole day--for the cream to solidify, and it was a bit icy, but it tasted good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States