Creamy Mango Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but I found that two things make it a bit better. 1) If it is a bit tart, adding up to 1 Tblsp of sugar helps. 2) Before adding the ice, if you can refrigerate the mixture overnight, the mango scent and flavor intensify IMMENSELY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Mango is on sale here this week so I bought quite a bit and we're in danger of losing them. I used buttermilk (use or lose kind of situation--I tried buttermilk in another smoothie recipe and we really liked it--you should try it, too!) and chunked frozen bananas instead of ice cubes instead of ice for added thickness and fruit. I doubled this for my boys and I and it was just enough for all of us. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great smoothie! What I liked best about this recipe is that it called for less yogurt than most - enough to give it some thickness and creaminess, without giving it that noticeable sour tang. While I did have fresh mango on hand, I decided to use frozen and I'm glad I did - I do notice that using frozen fruit does make a difference in making this super cold and refreshing. While I liked the addition of the vanilla I'll either reduce the amount next time or omit it altogether - there was enough in the vanilla yogurt and I think it may have detracted a bit from the full mango flavor. Also, since I used frozen mango, I think I'll omit the ice cubes next time too - Hubs and I both like our smoothies thick. The slight changes I'd make to this recipe in no way is a criticism of the recipe, but only a matter of personal preference. I loved this nice change from the typical berry smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This turned out pretty good no sour taste from the yogurt..:O) Next time I would use frozen mango in place of fresh to keep the drink colder..as I prefer very very cold drinks I added extra ice :O) YUMMIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I love this smoothie! I believe it's the best smoothie recipe I've ever made at home & I am now obsessed with mango! I added vanilla flavored protein powder since I wanted it to be a meal replacement shake, but other than that I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Not a fan...Sorry! I couldn't drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This smoothie was delicious! The only thing I would do differently next time, is I will get frozen mangos instead of fresh. The fresh was just too much of a pain to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
A little odd that I would have such a difference of opinion, but I just didn't feel this had any flavor at all. I didn't find the vanilla overwhelming, because I didn't taste it, nor did I taste much mango. It was a bit like just drinking water with a bit of mango flavoring. And I did make it as is. I ended up adding a bunch (about 1/3 to 1/2 cup!) of orange-mango-peach juice *concentrate* to give it some flavor. I don't know if it's too much milk or what. I do see the review of someone saying to refrigerate overnight to bring out the flavor - but if I want a smoothie, I'm generally wanting it now - not the kind of thing I'm waiting overnight for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was really good. However, I did have to add more Mango, which turned out WONDERFUL. After I add'd more, it was much better. I also used frozen, not fresh and the ice wasn't needed, I used only skim milk, no ice was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I used frozen mangoes and I think it is great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States