Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times, and generally find it comes out with twice as much sauce as you need if you follow the directions (and I LIKE) a saucy mac & cheese. I tend to use half again or double the amount of pasta, and that seems to work out okay. I make it with veggie broth and a little onion salt replacing half of the dijon, which itself is replaced by dry mustard. I also usually leave out the parmesan. Usually turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notamaiar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I added cubed ham and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hyka Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Fantastic. Made this for a party & it was a big hit. I believe the secret to any Mac & cheese is the quality of the cheese. I cut the mustard to 1Tbsp and split the 1lb of cheddar into 3 different types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Just made this and it's the Best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
When it was really warm it was ok. When it started to cool just a bit it was thick and hard to swallow. It also had a gritty chalky taste that got worse the longer it sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is the best homemade macaroni and cheese I've found! I'm very picky because I cannot stand dry mac and cheese but this is far from it. The only change I made is added some garlic powder and a little less Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
My family loved this Mac n cheese and they can be picky this is the recipe I will use from now on great for pot luck at church as well had so many compliment's thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have made this according to the recipe exactly. I don't care for the Dijon mustard, but I love it with ground dry mustard. The flavor is there but does not overpower. I also found that putting it in the oven for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees thickens it up a bit more. This stays creamy even after the oven. Lots of cheese sauce. The chicken broth camouflages the flour taste. A pet peeve of mine. I hate tasting flour from the roux in my sauces. My go-to from now on for mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Oh so super cheesy! I didn't have any Dijon mustard so I just added some ground mustard and it was just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Pittman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
The pasta is too rich and the mustard is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States