Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Okay, so my dad and I tried this out and we went straight head-over-heels for this dish. We loved it so much, we went to the "lab" to find different ways to do this dish. For the cheeses, we combine half a triangle of asiago and two full blocks of sharp cheddar and sharp provolone. Instead of using actual mustard, we use 2 tsp of mustard powder, 2 tsp of wasabi powder (Penzey's Spices!!) and 2 tsp of white pepper (also at Penzey's!!) When throwing in the cheese, do it all at once and take an immersion blender to it (if you got one, not very expensive). Aside from these alterations, we followed the recipe to the teeth, and the LORD SAID IT WAS GOOD. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Mac and Cheese is my favorite food ever, but this was just plain nasty. It was very gritty, and I even followed the other users ideas. I don't know what I could even do to this to make it better. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Soooo delicious!!! The best thing about this recipe is the fact that it doesn't get too dry. When I'm making homemade Mac and chees I'm going to a party so it will inevitably sit for a bit. This recipe is so moist that it doesn't dry out. I changed a few things. I followed Carsonmacmommy's advice and whisked away to prevent graininess. I used 1 can of evaporated milk but substituted sourcream and heavy cream for the rest of the milk. After it was ready I put it in a 13x9 casserole and sprinkled ritz crackers on top. Broil for just a few mins. Yummy"!!!! You could use any cheese in this recipe. Next time I'm trying pepper jack for a spicy Mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Modified based on other reviews (thanks!). I wanted to make a mac n cheese that would definitely be kid and picky-eater friendly. I whisked half a stick of butter and ww flour first. Then whisked 1 cup warm broth in, then only 1 can of evaporated milk (also warmed) until bubbly. Then stir in 1/2 cup parmesan, 1 can cheddar cheese soup, and about 1 lb fresh shredded cheddar stir until blended. Add 1/2 & 1/2 to adjust thickness, if needed, and S&P to taste. Excellent! I have made 2x and wouldnt change a thing. Big time cheese lover here and LOVE IT! Also, the second time more comfy with recipe and in a hurry - couldn't believe how quickly I pulled it together. I always thought mac n cheese homemade took a long time to make, (thinking of baked mac) but it really doesn't on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really loved this mac and cheese. I did not have dijon mustard and used a tiny bit of yellow mustard in it's place. Also, did not have Parmesan cheese, but next time will definitely make sure I try it will all ingredients. I added some buttered bread crumbs bc that is one of my favorites with mac n cheese. Thanks for a easy quick recipe that tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandahills1
Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i have made this multiple times for different events from BBQs to office parties and always a hit. But I make as directed then place in a large baking dish (350F) and sprinkle bread crumbs on top with a little parmasean cheese for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
While I like the recipe, I still wanted it to be more flavorful and creamy. Instead, I suspect from parmesan cheese, it was still grainy in texture. It needs some more salt, has a slightly sweet taste (evaporated milk, or dijon mustard?) , and maybeq more pepper. One pan cooking was good. Though, I did pour it into an aluminum pan at 350 for 15-20 min to let it set and keep warm while I fried chicken. This made it more solid than a creamy noodles dish. Thus, the creaminess mentioned above may be my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Too salty and I like salt. I would add more pasta to offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONTANAMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I am glad I read it wrong and only added 1 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard. I added two eggs and only used one can of evaporated milk. I my husband and I thought it was really good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Way too much sauce and not enough kinds of cheese. After tasting the outcome, I added a can of tomato soup, placed in baking dish, sprinkled Italian bread crumbs on top, and baked for 25 minutes at 425 degrees. Better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States