Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Okay, so I have tried literally 10 different recipes and for some reason I always fail. This is as close to what my kids get from the box mac and cheese. I hit a home run with this recipe! Love it! One thing I would change is a 1/4 cup less liquid. I use heavy cream instead of the condensed milk, it made this mac and cheese really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I halved the recipe because I have a small family and added a 1/2 tsp of sea salt and left out the Dijon and used lower fat cheddar. It was GREAT! It is very similar (but better) than the mac and cheese my toddlers love at Jason's Deli. Yum! I would have added the Dijon and pepper, but I thought the kids would like it better plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tedsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
this may sound strange, but i prefer box mac n chz, but wanted to make home made mac n chz for church potluck. i must say, this is sooooo creamy and delicious!!! everyone loved it at church and i've shared the recipe with many friends!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is my first review here, and I just needed to say that this mac and cheese is unbelievable! I don't like dijon mustard, but my girlfriend is a fan, so I just used 1/2 tsp, and it was enough to give the recipe that dijon taste without being over powering. Next time I would probably leave it out all together, and then she can spoon some on top afterwards if she wants. Other than that, extremely creamy and cheesy. I used Tillamook extra sharp (black label), and it was just boarding on too sharp. Next time I think Im going to use 1/2 pound of sharp and 1/2 pound of medium. This makes mac n cheese that is very comparable to "Amy's" mac n cheese that you can find in the frozen health food departments. Except for fresh of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Awesome! I used one can of fat free evaporated milk & one can of light evaporated milk, cut the cheddar cheese in half & it was still outstanding. Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margarette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe. My family did not care for the mustard, however, I did. Great recipe for someone who has never made mac & cheese from scratch before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this! I halved the recipe and simplified it by only using regular milk instead of evaporated and omitting the mustard, parmesan and pepper. I use whatever cheese I have on hand and omit the salt if I'm using chicken broth with sodium in it. I added some garlic powder to the milk mixture before adding the cheese and it was delish! This is my go-to mac 'n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona Bristowe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is delicious if eaten immediately. It did not reheat well. It got clumpy and lost the smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe is really easy to make and delicious! You get a real workout stirring. I would cut it by half because it really makes a lot. My 2 year old daughter ate a huge bowl of it. Ta ta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is my first ever recipe rating but I had to weigh in on this dish. This was the best homemade mac and cheese that I've ever made. My picky family devoured it. The next day I used the leftovers to make fried mac & cheese balls - scoop and roll into balls and place on a sheet pan, freeze for about 2 hours. Dip into egg wash then italian breadcrumbs. Let sit for a few minutes and repeat this step. Thaw on a sheet for about 90 minutes then fry at 350 for 2 - 3 minutes. Time consuming but easy and as close to fried food heaven as I can imagine. Thanks again for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States