Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Mac and Cheese is my favorite food ever, but this was just plain nasty. It was very gritty, and I even followed the other users ideas. I don't know what I could even do to this to make it better. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Soooo delicious!!! The best thing about this recipe is the fact that it doesn't get too dry. When I'm making homemade Mac and chees I'm going to a party so it will inevitably sit for a bit. This recipe is so moist that it doesn't dry out. I changed a few things. I followed Carsonmacmommy's advice and whisked away to prevent graininess. I used 1 can of evaporated milk but substituted sourcream and heavy cream for the rest of the milk. After it was ready I put it in a 13x9 casserole and sprinkled ritz crackers on top. Broil for just a few mins. Yummy"!!!! You could use any cheese in this recipe. Next time I'm trying pepper jack for a spicy Mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Modified based on other reviews (thanks!). I wanted to make a mac n cheese that would definitely be kid and picky-eater friendly. I whisked half a stick of butter and ww flour first. Then whisked 1 cup warm broth in, then only 1 can of evaporated milk (also warmed) until bubbly. Then stir in 1/2 cup parmesan, 1 can cheddar cheese soup, and about 1 lb fresh shredded cheddar stir until blended. Add 1/2 & 1/2 to adjust thickness, if needed, and S&P to taste. Excellent! I have made 2x and wouldnt change a thing. Big time cheese lover here and LOVE IT! Also, the second time more comfy with recipe and in a hurry - couldn't believe how quickly I pulled it together. I always thought mac n cheese homemade took a long time to make, (thinking of baked mac) but it really doesn't on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really loved this mac and cheese. I did not have dijon mustard and used a tiny bit of yellow mustard in it's place. Also, did not have Parmesan cheese, but next time will definitely make sure I try it will all ingredients. I added some buttered bread crumbs bc that is one of my favorites with mac n cheese. Thanks for a easy quick recipe that tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandahills1
Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i have made this multiple times for different events from BBQs to office parties and always a hit. But I make as directed then place in a large baking dish (350F) and sprinkle bread crumbs on top with a little parmasean cheese for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
While I like the recipe, I still wanted it to be more flavorful and creamy. Instead, I suspect from parmesan cheese, it was still grainy in texture. It needs some more salt, has a slightly sweet taste (evaporated milk, or dijon mustard?) , and maybeq more pepper. One pan cooking was good. Though, I did pour it into an aluminum pan at 350 for 15-20 min to let it set and keep warm while I fried chicken. This made it more solid than a creamy noodles dish. Thus, the creaminess mentioned above may be my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Too salty and I like salt. I would add more pasta to offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONTANAMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I am glad I read it wrong and only added 1 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard. I added two eggs and only used one can of evaporated milk. I my husband and I thought it was really good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Way too much sauce and not enough kinds of cheese. After tasting the outcome, I added a can of tomato soup, placed in baking dish, sprinkled Italian bread crumbs on top, and baked for 25 minutes at 425 degrees. Better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I was looking for a homemade mac-n-cheese recipe like my grandma used to make. I found this recipe to have the consistency of school paste. I followed the directions but between the sharp cheddar, strong Parmesan and the mustard, it was SO sour! I have no problems cooking a rue so I know that wasn't the problem with the consistency but for some reason it was too thick and way way too sour. Neither my 3 teens nor my husband and I could even eat it. Disappointed it was such a waste of good ingredients (and money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States