Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
awesome dish! whole family loved it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Creamy and not grainy.First time I have made mac and cheese that is not grainy without using Velveeta, and the flavor and texture is so much better without the processed cheese! Made with half & half, 1 1/2 tsp regular mustard powder instead of dijon, cayenne pepper instead of black (did not measure but a fair amount). Added a little (small pinch?) salt and 1-2 tsp onion powder. Used half sharp cheddar and half Mexican blend since other reviews to prevent graininess. Did not have excess sauce as some reported. Did take about ten minutes to thicken. Filled a 9X13 Pyrex dish nicely. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The only change I made the first time was I left the Dijon mustard since I don't like it. The second time I made it was just the sauce to put on nachos. I think I'll add some green chile's next time. This time I mixed some salsa into it. I used the leftover sauce the next time over broccoli. LOVE this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Okay, so I have tried literally 10 different recipes and for some reason I always fail. This is as close to what my kids get from the box mac and cheese. I hit a home run with this recipe! Love it! One thing I would change is a 1/4 cup less liquid. I use heavy cream instead of the condensed milk, it made this mac and cheese really creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I halved the recipe because I have a small family and added a 1/2 tsp of sea salt and left out the Dijon and used lower fat cheddar. It was GREAT! It is very similar (but better) than the mac and cheese my toddlers love at Jason's Deli. Yum! I would have added the Dijon and pepper, but I thought the kids would like it better plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tedsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
this may sound strange, but i prefer box mac n chz, but wanted to make home made mac n chz for church potluck. i must say, this is sooooo creamy and delicious!!! everyone loved it at church and i've shared the recipe with many friends!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is my first review here, and I just needed to say that this mac and cheese is unbelievable! I don't like dijon mustard, but my girlfriend is a fan, so I just used 1/2 tsp, and it was enough to give the recipe that dijon taste without being over powering. Next time I would probably leave it out all together, and then she can spoon some on top afterwards if she wants. Other than that, extremely creamy and cheesy. I used Tillamook extra sharp (black label), and it was just boarding on too sharp. Next time I think Im going to use 1/2 pound of sharp and 1/2 pound of medium. This makes mac n cheese that is very comparable to "Amy's" mac n cheese that you can find in the frozen health food departments. Except for fresh of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Awesome! I used one can of fat free evaporated milk & one can of light evaporated milk, cut the cheddar cheese in half & it was still outstanding. Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margarette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe. My family did not care for the mustard, however, I did. Great recipe for someone who has never made mac & cheese from scratch before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this! I halved the recipe and simplified it by only using regular milk instead of evaporated and omitting the mustard, parmesan and pepper. I use whatever cheese I have on hand and omit the salt if I'm using chicken broth with sodium in it. I added some garlic powder to the milk mixture before adding the cheese and it was delish! This is my go-to mac 'n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States