Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Very good. This is my first attempt ever to make a mac n cheese. I did not add the dijon mustard as I don't care for it and I thought having the parm cheese might be a bit much. I used it here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/macaroni-and-cheese-with-bacon-and-onions/detail.aspx So those extra flavorings would not be missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have never found a homemade mac n cheese I loved this much. I did not have everything I need for the recipe, unfortunately. I had no parmesan cheese, so I omitted that. The cheddar cheese I had was only mild cheddar cheese. I also used ground and plain mustard instead of dijon. I am dying to try this recipe as written next time. I can't believe I changed it so much and it was still delicious! This is my kind of mac n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Out of our family of 5 only 1 child loved it. Hubby & 2 kids thought it was way too cheesy & I liked it. I used extra old cheddar (about 200 grams)and mixed in some Kraft Tex Mex shredded cheese mix & the parmesean. Will make again but will cut back on the old cheddar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This macaroni is absolutely delicious! I made it exactly as written and it turned out great. Superb comfort food. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was fine. It did come out super creamy but I thought the chicken broth flavor a bit much. I wonder if vegetable broth would improve it. Will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is the best Mac'n'cheese recipe I have had yet. The only way it could be creamier is if you used the Velveeta plasticheese, and then it would not taste good. I leave out the mustard because, to me, macaroni and cheese should be mellow, not "zingy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was great! I halved the recipe and used a combination of extra sharp cheddar, muenster, and pepper jack. I ended up needing about 3/4 c. more water (used the rinse water from the evaporated milk can). I too needed to stir the butter/milk mixture for close to 10 minutes. After I mixed in the pasta, I transferred it to a greased baking dish, sprinkled with parley and thyme and baked at 350 covered for about 20 minutes while I got the rest of dinner ready. The last 5 minutes, I uncovered, topped with crushed saltines and broiled on high to get a nice crust. Hands down the best mac and cheese I've ever had. The dijon really puts it over the top, and I will continue to play with other spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This turned out soooo good!! I used fresh parm from Trader Joe's and cheese from the deli and it was a huge hit with the family. I did make it again at my parents house and didn't have the same ingredients and it wasn't as good:( I will continue to make it at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I reduced the size to 4 servings. It was on ther chicken-y side due to the broth which I will substitute with water in the future, either that or I may have used too much broth being that my measurements were pre frozen in half cups, and I didn’t bother paying attention to the measurement. The sauce was incredible! Very cheesy, although I did add very little shredded Mozzarella and American. I love cheese so I am not complaining! :) I used heavy cream since I didn’t have the evaporated milk on hand, which I used less of since I figured I went over on the broth. Lastly I subbed the mustard for a quite a bit less nutmeg. Altogether this Mac n’ Cheese was just what it says it’ll be – creamy and delicious (not to mention cheesy!!). I will definitely be making again and experimenting more with this recipe. Thanks much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Marie Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Husband said "It was all right." I agreed. It took a lot of whisking. We decided we liked my own version better which is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States