Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
loved it...its totally awesome and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very good base. With some adjustments to elevate flavors excellent. I get compliments and requests for the recipe frequently, and it's a hit with both kids and adults. This is not diet food, but if you're going for an awesome mac n cheese try this! -Substitute whole milk for evaporated. -Use dry mustard instead to taste. -Add onion (1/4-1/3 c) chopped fine and lightly sautéed. -Really heap the cheeses and add mozzarella for extra creaminess. It rounds the sharpness of the cheddar and parmesan. Or add Gruyere for a different flavor layer. -Option: add a few dashes of hot sauce if you're serving adults -Option: add 1 tsp "Better Than Bullion" chicken to the broth (and decrease salt as needed) Reheats well, can add a bit of skim milk to get creaminess back if it's dry. I've made a lot of mac n cheese (kids!) and have found the best is made on the stovetop. When you start baking pasta all that cheesy goodness gets absorbed into the macaroni resulting in dry tasteless mac n cheese. Nothing dry or tasteless about this recipe.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I liked this recipe-I tried it because it was creamy and it was! I did not use the Dijon mustard. Next time I probably will not use the Parmesan cheese and extra sharp cheddar but colby/jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Recipe turned out a little grainy. I'm not sure what I did wrong though. Will try to whisk for longer next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Tadaaaa!!!!!!!!!! I absolutely enjoyed this! I have been making macaronia & cheese for many years. This was the best I've ever made. So creamy & delicious! Panara Bread makes a creamy, delicious macaroni & cheese JUST like this; except they charge you $5.00 for about 4 ounces! I must admit that I too ommited the mustard (that scared me). Still it was total perfection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe.....best mac and cheese ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Majikal Beauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I've made this macaroni and cheese twice now and it was loved by all both times! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe verbatim with the exception of the Dijon mustard. It's not really a taste that I associate with classic macaroni and cheese, so I opted to leave it out and it turned out great. The second time I made it, I included dustings of garlic powder and Cajun seasoning to give it some kick and it was even better than before. To those who have remarked that it was too saucy, simply make it ahead of whatever else you're preparing for the meal and let it sit on a warm burner for a while; it'll thicken up very nicely. Also, who complains about having to stir too much? This has like four cups of cheese AND flour in it. What do you expect!? Overall, this is an easy, delicious side dish that has a lot of potential for customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anhauser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
too much work for mac n cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My family is funny about homemade macaroni and cheese. They have one version that they really, really like and they compare every other one that I make to their favorite. Well, I’m happy to announce that they loved this “no baked” version of mac n’cheese. I made this as written using spiral shaped pasta and found it very creamy, just like the title says. I like that this can be made pretty quickly and would work for a quick week night meal. You could even make the sauce up ahead of time and reheat before adding to the cooked pasta. We had friends over for dinner the night I made this and they enjoyed it also and even had seconds. That always makes the cook feel good. :o) We really did like everything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good. I used one cup of chicken broth and one can of evaporated milk because several reviews mentioned too much liquid that had to be cooked down. I added 1/2 tsp ground mustard instead of the 1 1/2 T mustard. I also added a pound of frozen broccoli (cooked with the pasta for the last five minutes) and a cooked, cubed chicken breast. I had planned on putting this in a casserole to bake, but the sauce was thick enough that it didn't need to be cooked down and the mixture was hot enough to serve. I added 1/2 cup of water to leftovers to thin the sauce, thinking the passta will absorb additional fluid. Next time I'll try 1 tsp dry mustard and plan on 2 cups of chicken broth with one can of evaporated milk. Leftovers are in the freezer for DH to take to work; I warned him it might separate but he's looking forward to leftovers for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States