Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The Dijon mustard made it inedible for both my husband and I. I didn't have any trouble preparing the recipe after I looked through a few of the reviews and added mozzarella along with the cheddar and shredded parmesan. The overall flavor of the cheeses was too bland and the mustard overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I love cheese and this was too rich for me. I don't recommend this recipe. I even tried some of the suggestions made by others to modify and it still wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Perfect as is! We always add the "Macaroni and Cheese with Ham, Peas and Shallots" to the recipe. A favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this for my kids and myself as my husband hates Mac and Cheese, plus I had pretty much everything on hand. I more or less halved the recipe. I used the rest of the box of Macaroni, 2 tbs of butter (only because that was what was left in the stick), and a block of extra sharp cheddar which I shredded. It did make a TON of sauce, I needed about a cup more noodles. My son who's three said he loved it better than the box, my daughter said that she liked it but liked the box better. I put extra cheese in the box mix as it is so it was similar in taste but creamier. I'll have the leftovers soon so I hope it heats up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is the second time I've made this recipe. This time I made it almost exactly as written, just only used 1 T. dijon, because it's not my favorite (last time i left it out). Turns out it's not that great with the dijon. :( I also made two pounds of elbows, because last time with one was waaay too much sauce. I think it was about the right amount of pasta, but if you're not big on dijon mustard, leave it out completely. I may try with a teaspoon of spicy brown next time. Still rating it 4 stars, but for the version I made tonight, I honestly rate it a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
loved it...its totally awesome and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very good base. With some adjustments to elevate flavors excellent. I get compliments and requests for the recipe frequently, and it's a hit with both kids and adults. This is not diet food, but if you're going for an awesome mac n cheese try this! -Substitute whole milk for evaporated. -Use dry mustard instead to taste. -Add onion (1/4-1/3 c) chopped fine and lightly sautéed. -Really heap the cheeses and add mozzarella for extra creaminess. It rounds the sharpness of the cheddar and parmesan. Or add Gruyere for a different flavor layer. -Option: add a few dashes of hot sauce if you're serving adults -Option: add 1 tsp "Better Than Bullion" chicken to the broth (and decrease salt as needed) Reheats well, can add a bit of skim milk to get creaminess back if it's dry. I've made a lot of mac n cheese (kids!) and have found the best is made on the stovetop. When you start baking pasta all that cheesy goodness gets absorbed into the macaroni resulting in dry tasteless mac n cheese. Nothing dry or tasteless about this recipe.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I liked this recipe-I tried it because it was creamy and it was! I did not use the Dijon mustard. Next time I probably will not use the Parmesan cheese and extra sharp cheddar but colby/jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Recipe turned out a little grainy. I'm not sure what I did wrong though. Will try to whisk for longer next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Tadaaaa!!!!!!!!!! I absolutely enjoyed this! I have been making macaronia & cheese for many years. This was the best I've ever made. So creamy & delicious! Panara Bread makes a creamy, delicious macaroni & cheese JUST like this; except they charge you $5.00 for about 4 ounces! I must admit that I too ommited the mustard (that scared me). Still it was total perfection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States