Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
WAAAAY too much milk in the original recipe for me. I cut it down to about 2 cups and used whole milk instead. it turned perfectly creamy and if there were any more it would have been too runny. I also didn't particularly like the Dijon flavor so when I make this again (and I will) I'll either omit it or seriously reduce it. And just for kicks, to add some personal flavor, I wanted it spicy. So I added cayenne, red pepper flakes and pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar. Would highly recommend it this way to anyone who enjoys a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was great. It will replace my old mac n chese recipe. made it for Christmas and the whole family loved it. Make sure you add salt to the water you use to boil the noodles. Did not have 2 cans of evaporated milk so used one can of evaporated milk and 12 oz of heavy cream, which i think I will continue to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe..And i have a family that loves mac and cheese..Bad texture and not a good flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Not that great. My 12 year old loves mac and cheese but she gave this one a thumbs down. I felt it had an off taste. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious!!!! yes it is creamy and cheesy and wonderful. I did as another reviewer used dry mustard in place of dijon and added some sauted lil smokies kids loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Not the best mac recipe. Too powdery and I think it's because of the amount of the flour and maybe the cheese. I think we will stick to baked mac recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Not really a fan of this recipe. The cheesy sauce doesn't taste all that fantastic to me. I've tasted better mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Creamy, tasty, quick and made with ingredients on hand, what more could you ask for! I cut the recipe in half, with 7oz cheddar and 1 oz asiago in addition to the parmigiano cheese, and used small cylinder pastas for my young children. The dijon is quite a strong flavor, so if you don't like it, cut back or omit. I also used homemade turkey broth I'd frozen from Thanksgiving. Served with peas and carrots, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very good, nice and creamy. I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion and whisked for 12 minutes and it seemed good to stop then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was really good homemade mac and cheese. I omitted the parm cheese and baked it for 20 min. Very yummy. I do like the Dijon mustard but if you don't the base works without it and you can jazz it up with your own custom flavors (garlic, onion, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States