Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Initially, I was really excited about this recipe but after I made it I discovered a few things I really don't like. The pasta is too rich and the mustard is a bit much. My husband and I read the reviews on this recipe before we made it and I was worried about the amount of mustard but I thought we would try it by the book first. Honestly I wont be making this again. I was looking for a Boston Market type of Mac and cheese and this looked really close. Sadly, Not even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Best recipe ever... I used 8oz Colby jack and 8oz grated pepper jack cheese instead of the sharp cheddar. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
We're in between 3-4 stars. This was the creamiest mac I've ever had, but I can see how some reviewers said the Dijon overpowers the mac. It does throw it off a little, but it's still delicious. Next time I would just leave the Dijon out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Did what the recipe said and it was amazing, my whole family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Made this for baby brother who can't get enough Mac and cheese. He wants me to give the recipe to our mother so she can make it for him (he is 8 yes old). I made it just like the recipe instructed EXCEPT I did take advice regarding the mustard. I used 1tsp ground mustard instead. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KP1030

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years and it's a hit every time. This recipe is fantastic as it is but it is also versatile. I have added any number of combinations of spices, meats and vegetables to make it a complete meal. My family's favourite though, is made with old cheddar (nearly doubled) and a little extra pasta for the resulting extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Substitute 1 tsp ground mustard for the dijon, and everything else is great. Dinner was delayed because of an interruption, and the sauce thickened up a lot! So, don't worry if it seems soupy at first, it cools to a thicker sauce. The parm added more saltiness than I expected, but that may have been the brand. I suggest tasting while adding small amounts of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Added paprika, needs a bit more flavor (salt & pepper). Used heavy cream insgtead of milk as other reviewers suggested. Very good, very creamy. Just seems to be missing a certain something to punch it over the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love this website, but am guilty of not taking the time to rate recipes. However, I had to make an exception for his one. It was excellent. My husband, who does not even like mac & cheese, raved about it. He ate three helpings and asked me to make it again. I did add a little more cheese and I only had one can of evaporated milk so that is what I used, but it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I found this mac and cheese to come out way to thick when following the directions to use the evaporated milk. I used half regular milk and half evaporated and it was still way to thick. Within a half hour of making this, it literally became one thick blob of food. The taste was good but I had to cut it apart to serve it. I would consider making this again but using all milk and less roux (flour/butter mixture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States