Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love macaroni and cheese and I'm generally very open minded when it comes to new recipes. Sadly, this recipe failed on most levels. I believe in making recipes exactly as they are written to understand the flavors before making all kinds of changes. So I made this recipe how it was intended to be made. I will admit that I was quite impressed with the sauce-to-pasta ratio. I'm a big fan of saucy mac and cheese so I was absolutely looking forward to diving in to my big bowl of this! I was sold with the first bite and if all I had was one bite, this recipe would receive 5 stars. However, I had more than one bite and suddenly I found myself really unsure of the flavor. Rather than the dijon overpowering the recipe like other commenters have mentioned, I found that the chicken broth overpowered the cheese flavor. By the time I got to the bottom of the bowl, all I could taste was chicken broth. So here's my overall review of this recipe... Pro's: super creamy and saucy, pretty pale yellow color (rather than technicolor orange from a box), great blend of cheeses used Con's: flavors did not meld well together, the chicken broth taste was overwhelming I will use a variation of this recipe in the future but will probably use all milk instead of evaporated milk and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawny Cunningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good. Everybody loved this. I did put a bit of water in to make a bit thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner.. I like the consistency of it, kind of creamy but not too much, but my whole family was pretty disappointed. You have to really like the taste of Parmesan to like this recipe though. Just a preference thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times, and generally find it comes out with twice as much sauce as you need if you follow the directions (and I LIKE) a saucy mac & cheese. I tend to use half again or double the amount of pasta, and that seems to work out okay. I make it with veggie broth and a little onion salt replacing half of the dijon, which itself is replaced by dry mustard. I also usually leave out the parmesan. Usually turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notamaiar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I added cubed ham and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hyka Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Fantastic. Made this for a party & it was a big hit. I believe the secret to any Mac & cheese is the quality of the cheese. I cut the mustard to 1Tbsp and split the 1lb of cheddar into 3 different types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Just made this and it's the Best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
When it was really warm it was ok. When it started to cool just a bit it was thick and hard to swallow. It also had a gritty chalky taste that got worse the longer it sat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is the best homemade macaroni and cheese I've found! I'm very picky because I cannot stand dry mac and cheese but this is far from it. The only change I made is added some garlic powder and a little less Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
My family loved this Mac n cheese and they can be picky this is the recipe I will use from now on great for pot luck at church as well had so many compliment's thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States