Creamy Linguini for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was quick, easy and yummy. That being said, I did make some changes based on what I had in the house and to try to make it a bit healthier. I cut the butter down by 1 T, used 2% milk (a little more than called for) and used turkey bacon. I just added a little flour to the butter to thicken since I used milk. Worked out just fine and the nutmeg provided a unique, but good flavor. I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is wonderful! I needed something fast and tasty for everyone to enjoy and this hit the spot... I even had all the ingredients on hand. It is a definitely a go to recipe when I am low on time or patience... I even blogged about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Swift

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This turned out very good, although it was very rich. I may use a little milk to thin out the sauce next time. My husband likes his with some chicken, I like mine just as it's written. It's hard to find recipes that can be made for just 2 people without a ton of leftovers (we like leftovers, but too many will spoil before we can finish them all.) We actually got 3 servings out of this recipe (dinner for the 2 of us the first night and lunch for my husband the following day.) Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Although I did change a couple things, I love this recipe! I had never made a white sauce before and found it to be pretty darn easy! Others like this one called for flour, so I added a little, which worked out great. I also was trying to emulate a garlic sauce my kids love, so instead of nutmeg I used garlic salt, and this also worked well. Increased bacon, and made the sauce in bacon pan, to increase the flavor- yummm! My 3 year old had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was easy to make, and my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is very easy to make and my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Yummy and delicious! It got the boyfriend's approval. We didn't have any nutmeg on hand, so we used garlic instead. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Very quick and easy, very tasty! Sounded good as-written but I added some mushrooms, broccoli, Roma tomatoes, and garlic that I sauteed with the grease from the bacon. I used fat free half-&-half, black pepper (didn't have white), and used a little bit of pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have straight nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I increased this to feed our family and it was great. A few changes to accomodate what I had on hand: I had no cream so instead I used 2% milk, so after melting the butter, I added a few pinches of flour to ensure I'd have a thicker sauce. I used regular black pepper and threw in some crushed red pepper for kick and left out the nutmeg. Whole family enjoyed this and I love how easy and quick it was to throw together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
As it was, i didn't think that there was enough sauce. I made it with the bacon and didn't like it, so i left it out this time and used chicken. Instead of cream i used half and half. I Also added garlic because i love garlic, and i took out the nutmeg. I also like a lot of cheese in things like this, so i added about a cup and a half this time. I made it for my bf and he loved it! I'm so glad that i found this recipe, but next time i don't think i will use any kind of meat. It was really easy to make, it looked fanch and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States