Creamy Lemon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I've made this recipe for years, and it's fabulous. However I use 1 cup of lemon juice to 16 oz. of Cool Whip. I also usually make my own pie crust. It is a family staple for me, and I never make recipes this quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I read the reviews for this pie and took matters into my own hands. Since there didn't seem to be enough lemon flavor, I used lemon juice squeezed from 2 lemons and the zest of the lemons. The zest enhances the flavor tremendously! It was delicious and looked even better with graham cracker crumbs sprinkled over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This was the fastest dessert I've ever made. I should have know that it was too good to be true. This is a "Cool Whip" pie with a hint of lemon flavor. I added about twice the amount of lemon juice, just to get a hint of lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
So easy and everyone wants this recipe-Delicious! I use 1 tsp Lemon Extract for more lemony flavor and started using homemade whipped cream, "Sweetened Whipped Cream" from this website, instead of CoolWhip but because the texture is softer I freeze it (partially thawed some think it's an ice cream pie!). I also sprinkle lemon zest on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Big hit!! Everyone loved it. I squeezed two fresh lemons and used bottled lemon juice to make up the difference. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This is simple, easy, tart & tasty! I sprinkled some lemon zest on top for a little color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Easy and so delicious! Forget those complicated recipes, this is really wonderful. Everyone picked this over the Lemon Meringue in my taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This pie is super sweet. Curled my teeth, with just the tablespoon of the filling that I sampled. Definitely needs lemon zest otherwise tastes just of cool whip and the sweetened condensed milk. I used the zest of two and 1/2 lemons. Use a micrograter to zest, and it's a snap. Also zested 1/2 of a lemon to put on top for decoration along with a lemon twist. Definitely do not be tempted to put more cool whip on top as a topping. Not needed at all. This is, of course, not cooking. Just putting things together. Great when you need to take a dessert somewhere. Can make it in the morning in about five minutes time, ready to take by evening. With the addition of the zest, my pie was lemony. Would make again trying some kind of pie filling without the condensed milk added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
As written, this tastes like Cool Whip with a light lemon scent (and even lighter flavor). Perhaps by "lemon juice" what she meant to say what "lemonade concentrate"--I've had several similar recipes using (thawed) frozen lemonade concentrate from a can, cool whip & sweetened condensed milk with great success. This one, despite using double the fresh lemon juice, wasn't lemony (and I used only 8 oz. of Cool Whip as it no longer sells in 12 oz. standard here.) It was easy enough to adjust so I'm not going to knock this recipe down below 4 stars, because everyone should have bottled lemon, lime, or orange juice in the fridge to adjust to taste. And everyone's tastes are different! Adding the extra lemon juice made my filling a bit runny so I'm going to serve this as a freezer pie, which will be also super delicious and refreshing. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
reminds me of a recipe from my childhood although not lemony or creamy enough. Less Fluff and more lemon juice would be perfect but anything lemon is wonderful. Thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States