Creamy Lemon Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
As written, this tastes like Cool Whip with a light lemon scent (and even lighter flavor). Perhaps by "lemon juice" what she meant to say what "lemonade concentrate"--I've had several similar recipes using (thawed) frozen lemonade concentrate from a can, cool whip & sweetened condensed milk with great success. This one, despite using double the fresh lemon juice, wasn't lemony (and I used only 8 oz. of Cool Whip as it no longer sells in 12 oz. standard here.) It was easy enough to adjust so I'm not going to knock this recipe down below 4 stars, because everyone should have bottled lemon, lime, or orange juice in the fridge to adjust to taste. And everyone's tastes are different! Adding the extra lemon juice made my filling a bit runny so I'm going to serve this as a freezer pie, which will be also super delicious and refreshing. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was a big hit for Easter Dinner. The lemon flavor was perfect. I'm not a big fan of lemon meringue pie - this is a very nice alternate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EzyCookN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamlin, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Although I love all of the ingredients separately, this dessert was far too sweet for our liking. My husband and I are both lemon dessert lovers but we found this wasn't tart enough. Sadly we couldn't bring ourselves to finish it and ended up throwing it out. Sorry, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This pie is super sweet. Curled my teeth, with just the tablespoon of the filling that I sampled. Definitely needs lemon zest otherwise tastes just of cool whip and the sweetened condensed milk. I used the zest of two and 1/2 lemons. Use a micrograter to zest, and it's a snap. Also zested 1/2 of a lemon to put on top for decoration along with a lemon twist. Definitely do not be tempted to put more cool whip on top as a topping. Not needed at all. This is, of course, not cooking. Just putting things together. Great when you need to take a dessert somewhere. Can make it in the morning in about five minutes time, ready to take by evening. With the addition of the zest, my pie was lemony. Would make again trying some kind of pie filling without the condensed milk added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
simple, quick and cool dessert. My daughter's new "specialty" that is requested of her for friend's get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Quick and easy, but definitely add MORE LEMON JUICE and a drop of YELLOW FOOD COLORING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I love the fact this pie has only three ingredients (well, four if you count the pie crust). I also increased the fresh lemon juice to 1/2 a cup and added a little less than 1/4 teaspon of lemon zest. It was really sweet and tangy. I stirred the whipped cream into the lemon/milk mixture, but didn't use all of whipped cream. Just enough to mellow out the lemon and to add more volume to the pie. I added a view drops of yellow food coloring to give it more of a lemon color, and spread whipped cream on the top. Sprinkled a little bit of lemon zest on the top and put a few lemon rinds for decoration. Stuck it in the freezer to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
yummy. As a kid my mom made this pie all the time and her mom and so on. The only differnce between my family's recipe and this one is we use a 1/2 cup lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This pie has a very good flavor. The directions say to chill the pie, it was a little too soft in the refrigerator but was good when left if the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I Loved this Pie, and I don't usually like ANY pie, its Light and so tasty and I love lemon anything. Very very good recipe. I made it 3 times in the last month..lol Thanks, Lena =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States