Creamy Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We really didn't care for this dish. I read the reviews and saw that others thought that the sauce was bland, so I added some seasonings. It still wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Ramped up the spices in the flour to include garlic and onion powders, and a dash of homemade spice mixture. Omitted salt completely. I added the full amount of lemon juice and I could have added more, but the kids stopped me. One didn't like the sauce, one loved the entire thing. I served over smashed garlic infused cauliflower instead of rice. This might make it's way into an 'occasional' meal. The longest time was frying up the chicken--only 2 fit in my skillet at a time. After that, pretty easy. Wish the sauce was thicker though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was just alright in my opinion. I couldn't get past the metallic canned taste of the sauce despite tweaking the recipe. I added the 3 Tbsp's of lemon juice because I love the tartness but the sauce was missing salt and seasoning. I added salt, even a Tbsp. of butter whisked in to try and enrich the sauce and while it turned out fine and was edible, I wouldn't make it again unless I made my own homemade lemon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was o.k. I used extra lemon juice and it did not over power this dish. It was bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
As-written, this is only a three-star recipe. With my modifications, it would be four stars. The canned sauce is pretty bland and sort of reminded me of extremely watered down cream of chicken soup. Honestly, I expected quite a bit more flavor from a Progresso product. I had to add salt and pepper to the sauce to get any real flavor from it. I didn't measure the lemon juice, but I estimate that I used about 2 Tbs, which was plenty. Any more would have been far too tart. I also did not simmer the chicken in the sauce, as that would have destroyed the beautiful golden crispness obtained by sauteing the chicken. I served this with brown jasmine rice cooked in home made chicken stock and bacon/onion flavored green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very nice and easy for a weeknight meal. I would have liked for the fat content in the sauce to be lower (I'm trying to lose weight), but all in all, really nice. And I loved the lemon zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Great flavor with the soup mixed with the fresh lemon for the gravy. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil, bowtie pasta instead of rice and cut the chicken into strips (it only took 2 large breasts)-and it fed 4-6! What an easy weeknight meal this made. I would use less lemon juice next time-maybe just a little squeeze-the soup is good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Because I was afraid 3 T. of lemon juice would be too strong for mine and my husband's tastes, I began with 2 T. and am very glad I did. Had I added the full amount, it would have been entirely too strong a flavor for our liking. We did not particularly enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States