Creamy Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We really didn't care for this dish. I read the reviews and saw that others thought that the sauce was bland, so I added some seasonings. It still wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Ramped up the spices in the flour to include garlic and onion powders, and a dash of homemade spice mixture. Omitted salt completely. I added the full amount of lemon juice and I could have added more, but the kids stopped me. One didn't like the sauce, one loved the entire thing. I served over smashed garlic infused cauliflower instead of rice. This might make it's way into an 'occasional' meal. The longest time was frying up the chicken--only 2 fit in my skillet at a time. After that, pretty easy. Wish the sauce was thicker though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was just alright in my opinion. I couldn't get past the metallic canned taste of the sauce despite tweaking the recipe. I added the 3 Tbsp's of lemon juice because I love the tartness but the sauce was missing salt and seasoning. I added salt, even a Tbsp. of butter whisked in to try and enrich the sauce and while it turned out fine and was edible, I wouldn't make it again unless I made my own homemade lemon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was o.k. I used extra lemon juice and it did not over power this dish. It was bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
As-written, this is only a three-star recipe. With my modifications, it would be four stars. The canned sauce is pretty bland and sort of reminded me of extremely watered down cream of chicken soup. Honestly, I expected quite a bit more flavor from a Progresso product. I had to add salt and pepper to the sauce to get any real flavor from it. I didn't measure the lemon juice, but I estimate that I used about 2 Tbs, which was plenty. Any more would have been far too tart. I also did not simmer the chicken in the sauce, as that would have destroyed the beautiful golden crispness obtained by sauteing the chicken. I served this with brown jasmine rice cooked in home made chicken stock and bacon/onion flavored green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very nice and easy for a weeknight meal. I would have liked for the fat content in the sauce to be lower (I'm trying to lose weight), but all in all, really nice. And I loved the lemon zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Great flavor with the soup mixed with the fresh lemon for the gravy. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil, bowtie pasta instead of rice and cut the chicken into strips (it only took 2 large breasts)-and it fed 4-6! What an easy weeknight meal this made. I would use less lemon juice next time-maybe just a little squeeze-the soup is good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Because I was afraid 3 T. of lemon juice would be too strong for mine and my husband's tastes, I began with 2 T. and am very glad I did. Had I added the full amount, it would have been entirely too strong a flavor for our liking. We did not particularly enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States