Creamy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made this cake for a BBQ and it was a HUGE hit...everyone gobbled it up and asked for seconds. I followed the recipe exactly, the only thing I added was the zest of one lemon to the cake batter and another zest of one lemon to the whip cream mixture. When my cake was done it was a little mounded on the top so I took a knife and cut the top so the surface was nice and flat for me to pour the whipped topping over, otherwise it would have slipped down the sides and been uneven. I will be making this again, and again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is one of the best cakes I have ever had! I used cherry jello in place of the lemon and applesauce in place of the oil. The cake turned out moist and flavorful and the icing was really light and tasty! I'll be making this one again and again and experimenting with different flavors of both the cake and the jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Great recipe. Ive been in a lemon moood for a few days and this was a great fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very tasty. I was surprised I didn't get great reviews from those who ate it. Would grate lemon rind on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Oh, wow! My boyfriend and I just made this cake tonight. We followed the directions exactly and it's just wonderful. Next time I may add two packages of lemon Jell-o to the top of the cake or maybe two packages of lemon pudding to the frosting mixture, just to make it even better. I also may experiment with allowing the Jell-o to set a bit before pouring it over the cake so it really can get into the holes instead of just seeping into the cake. In any case, we'll be making this a lot- it will be wonderful to lighten things up a bit during our long Alaska winters- and plan to experiment with different flavor combinations. Next up: white cake with strawberry Jell-o on top and cheesecake pudding in the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Cool and creamy with a mild lemon flavor. I was skeptical of using whipped topping in the frosting, but it turned out really well. Next time I will add some fresh lemon juice and zest to give it a more tangy lemon flavor. Glad I gave this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Wonderful recipe...not good for a layered cake ha ha...but it still worked. I wish it had more of a lemon taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkston, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I've been making different versions of this cake for years. My dad's favorite is lemon cake, lime jello and lemon pudding. Try it with white cake, raspberry jello and chocolate pudding.YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
It didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Easy, Fast and Very tasty. The lemon is very refreshing and cake is very moist. Thanks for the post! Will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States