Creamy Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Fantastic! I made this for my hubby's birthday in November and he absolutely LOVED it. He gave me the greatest compliment of all - he said it rivaled the lemon cream cake at Olive Garden. If any of you have had that cake at Olive Garden it is phenomenal. The topping on this cake is almost like a cheesecake. It is creamy and smooth - just the right amount of lemon. It is so easy to make - I had no problems! Plus the presentation was very pretty. You could easily make this into a lower fat/lower calorie recipe by making some minor revisions. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I wanted to make something lemony and not too overpowering - boy did I pick the right dessert! I got RAVE reviews from this one and even more from people who didn't particularly care for lemony desserts. I got the highest compliment of all ~ being asked for the recipe! I have been asked to make this time and time again for family gatherings and I've only been too happy to oblige. I love it myself and it's my hubbies fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very good, very moist cake! Brought it for an outdoor barbecue and it was fantastic. Added zest of 1 lemon to the cake mix and it was plenty lemon-y. I think it got better the next day, so I might make it a night ahead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Moist and marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a very moist, very tasty lemon cake. I've made this twice - for my FIL's birthday and now he requests and looks forward to it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
A very moist cake. I added a tsp. of lemon extract, a tblsp. of fresh lemon juice, and the zest of one lemon to both the cake batter and the frosting. If you are looking for a cake with a "zing," this is not it. It is a very light lemon flavor. I did the bundt cake method. If you do that also, be sure to grease and flour your bundt pan generously. Allow the bundt pan to cool on a cooling rack for no more than 5 minutes, and flip the cake onto your serving platter while it is still hot. Instead of a wooden spoon, I used a drinking straw to make numerous holes all over the top and sides of the cake. Use a hand mixer to make the frosting almost to a pudding consistency. I sprinkled lavender sugar over the top right before serving, which was very pretty. I'm looking forward to trying all the different flavor combos suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made this for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was incredible. I made the recipe just as is but I substituted sugar free/fat free where available on the jello/pudding and I used lite cool whip. I decorated with lemon zest and cut lemon slices. Next time I'll try this with strawberry cake mix, strawberry jello, and cheesecake flavored pudding. UPDATE: I tried the strawberrry version for Mother's Day and it came out delicious. This is a versatile way to make a yummy, inexpensive, easy, and less calorie cake. If you try the strawberry version that I listed above, fold some real strawberry juice/puree in the cool whip before spreading on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Made this for Easter in a 9x13 pan and it went over very well. Added a little extra whipped topping to the top layer. Can't wait to try other combinations--strawberry cake with strawberry gelatin and vanilla pudding with strawberry flavored whipped topping, chocolate cake with cherry gelatin and chocolate pudding topping, orange cake with orange gelatin, and vanilla pudding topping, etc., etc., etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this cake for my mom's Mother's Day luncheon. Most importantly, it was very tasty! I don't quite know where I went wrong but the appearance of my cake was a mangled disgrace! I am going to have to work on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States