Creamy Kohlrabi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Wow, very nice soup! I am eating it as I type. I just pulled the last of the kohlrabi out of the garden and this soup was a great way to use some of them. I have only eaten them raw. I didn't have regular milk so used a can of evaporated milk and the broth. After blending I thought it was a little thin so added about a tablespoon of masa harina and that worked fine. Also, a tiny sprinkle of nutmeg and topped with a grating of Parmesan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Awesome! This is the best thing I've ever made with kohlrabi. I threw in some carrots and subbed millet for the orzo. I also added chopped kohlrabi greens after the puree, and added the milk (a bit less) at that time. No extra salt needed. Loved by the whole family - Double this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was a very tasty soup but be sure to take the time to peel the kohlrabi really well or you'll end up with strings of fiber in your bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very good! I took the advice on another reviewer and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. Souper Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was way more enjoyable then I thought kohlrabi could be. Made it by the recipe with one change. I added fresh squeezed lemon in the bowl before I served it. I think it added just the right about of zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windlegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great recipe. Omitted the orzo. Used a little leek i had left over as well, 2 stalks of celery. Used 2 1/2 cups veggie and chix broth, and 1/2 cup of unsweetened soy milk. Absolutely delicious. I like my soups a bit thicker, and this turned out wondeful. Also, add a clove of garlic. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious! Used less of the liquid ingredients; we like our soups thick. Added some garlic powder. Sea salt instead of regular salt. When all ingredients were simmered soft; used a hand blender to blend. Then added a large handful of fresh spinach. Did not simmer any longer. Did not add any orzo pasta. My husband loved it! Now a family favorite...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Lars
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I make this soup in huge batches using huge Kohlrabi! Nobody buys the big ones (softball or larger), but they work well for the soup. Use a strainer after you blend it to get any remaining strings of fiber out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
So delicious! The only thing I would recommend is making sure to peel the kohlrabi down to the softer white part - don't leave any fibrous bits cause they don't go away even in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Good, easy soup! Chicken stock or broth will also work. Any small pasta will work instead of orzo. I didn't like the taste of plain raw kohlrabi, but I wanted to find a way to use up what I had. My picky toddler loved it, I liked it, and the other adults were so-so on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States