Creamy Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great recipe. I 'massaged' the torn kale in a bowl with a dash of kosher salt for 2-3 minutes to break down the fibres and make it more toothsome. I also added 1 Tbsp. of tahini to the dressing for an even creamier version and added dried cranberries. Thank you for an inspirational recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was realllly good! I only had pumpkin seeds, and used splenda instead of sugar and diced red pepper instead of raisins to make it lower calorie. It was awesome!! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I loved this! Classic twist on broccoli salad. i added curry powder to dressing, ledt out onions, and added celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Excellent salad. With kale being at the very top of the most nutrient-dense foods on this planet, we’re always looking for more ways, other than smoothies, to incorporate this superfood into our eating regime. Used an entire 6 ounce container of Greek yogurt (3/5 cup), and added 4 ounces of crumbled feta cheese and 1 tablespoon tahini. While the dressed out salad had a slight hint of bitterness which we found desirable, adding an extra step by massaging the kale will substantially remove the natural bitterness and tenderize it too (type ‘massage kale’ into your search engine to see different techniques). Nice recipe, QD&P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Kale is popular at my house, so we use it pretty often in soups, casseroles, etc. and as a substitute for spinach on occasion. However, I needed an interesting salad for a dinner party and decided to try this kale recipe. It was a huge hit and both couples at the party asked for the recipe during dinner. I used a mix of raisins and dried cranberries, but that was the only change. I also followed the tip to "massage" the kale and could really tell the difference. One note is that the salad decreases in volume after sitting in the dressing for a while, so take that into account when preparing this for a crowd. Will definitely use this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I was looking for a "new" way to use the beautiful kale in my garden. This is a super easy and delicious way to do just that! The only change I made was to add some feta cheese (which I love), and leave out the raisins (which I hate!). After having it only two weeks ago, I am making it tonight for a "garden party" (where most of the ingrediants are from the garden), and I know my guests will gobble it up! Thank you for a delectable and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weather Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've made it as written and also with subs as once I didn't have Yogurt so used sour cream. I've also used cranraisins and pecans or I've diced apples and feta. Use your imagination. I always try to make enough for left overs. This recipe can also be made the day before. I recommend messaging the kale with a little olive oil, the lemon and a pinch of sea salt until it turns bright green and starts to soften, usually 3 to 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I mixed this recipe up in the morning so it had the entire day to meld and soften the kale. I did sub dried cranberries for the raisins as that is what I had on hand. I was pretty certain my husband would not care for it, and I was correct. I think kale is an acquired taste, and he is not there, yet. I liked the creaminess the dressing provided, but thought the salad needed something more than raisins and red onion. The nice thing about this salad is even though the dressing has been added, the salad will still be crisp for lunch leftovers. I served this salad with 'Meatloaf with a Bite' and 'Cottage Noodles and Cabbage' both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clonsilla, County Dublin, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Definitely a yummy recipe. I used golden raisins and added some chopped celery and grapes. At first I thought there was too much dressing but when I ate it the next day I was glad I used it all. My husband wasn't a fan of the kale but that is okay...more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States