Creamy Jalapeno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I wanted to make this lighter--I used 11 ounces of nonfat plain greek yogurt and made up the remaining ounces of half reduced fat mayonnaise and reduced fat sour cream. I also used homemade dry ranch seasoning mix. I made this last night as I wanted it to have time to sit and really "bloom" before I dug into it. I couldn't even tell that it was lowfat. AMAZING. I can't stop eating it. This is my new favorite ranch dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This has quickly become a favorite. The dip is good for chips or vegetables, or you can even use it on sandwiches and tacos. In a pinch, you can make it without cilantro and it will still taste good. I followed the recipe exactly, and it rated 5 stars "as is", but I have a few changes that I prefer: 1) Double the jalapeno! 2) Use half the dressing mix. 3) Substitute 1 clove fresh minced garlic for the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My garden is overflowing with jalapenos, so I was looking for a new way to use them. This recipe is super quick and easy! I followed the recipe exactly (used low fat sour cream and the generic store brand ranch mix) and the longer I let it sit, the better it got. Right after I made it, I wasn't that impressed with the taste (tasted pretty much like ranch dip), but I just tried it again five hours later and the flavors are really improving! I can really taste the jalapeno and the cilantro now. I love spicy food and would say the heat is about a 3 on a scale of 1-10. Next time I will use fresh garlic instead of powdered. Definitely make this a day ahead of time to get the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
AWESOME!! Reminds me of the dip Chuys in Texas makes. I recommend using fresh garlic instead of the powder or do fresh and powder garlic. I also blend it in my blender!!!! LOVE IT! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I added some chopped fresh green chiles, a couple of pinches of salt, subbed minced garlic for powder, added a squirt or two of lemon juice & served it w/ sliced red peppers, celery, baby carrots & sliced banana peppers. Great dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I did not have any sour cream or dry ranch but I did the following changes and it came out great: added 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of ranch salad dressing, garlic powder, 1/2 tablespoon canola oil, 2 tablespoons yogurt, increased the number of jalapenos (I used 6 small ones from my garden but I love very spicy food) and used about 8 pickled jalapeno slices. I'm giving this 5 stars because ever since having creamy jalapeno dressing at Chuy's in Texas, my wife and I have been in love with it. And I have been trying to re-create it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was delicous - I used 1/2 the ranch pack as others said and doubled up the peppers, we like it hot! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I was expecting a lot more from this recipe than I got. I used 3 WHOLE jalapenos (with seeds) and twice as much cilantro as called for. The ranch seasoning was WAY overpowering. I think next time I will use half a packet of the seasoning, use a habenaro for a kick. I also had to add about 3 tablespoons of flour because it was way too ruiny for cracker toppings. I loved the cool flabvor of the cilantro followed by the zing of the pepper. If you are looking for a spicy dip, this isn't for you. Unless you add a few other peppers to give it the kick you are expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this exactly according to the recipe. Had too much of the ranch dry mix taste, and was extremely runny. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great starting recipe that can be changed to your taste. I had Ranch dip instead of dressing mix, so I was sparing with it. Used about 2/3-3/4 of the package and it was plenty of flavor. Since we love cilantro, I used a FULL handful and it turned the dip a beautiful green speckle color. I omitted the garlic powder (even though I love garlic, I just wanted to cilantro and pepper flavor to shine). I used one habanero pepper (those things are spicy) and it gave it some amazing kick. We used this sauce to top our southern style eggs benedict (cornbread, roasted pork, fried egg). UNBELIEVABLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States