Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This is a delicious soup with the modifications I included, some of which were suggested by other reviewers. I soaked 1 cup of cannelini beans in water the night before and simmered the beans for about an hour until soft. I added the thyme to the vegetables as I was sauteing them in olive oil. If it's a good olive oil, the taste is hard to beat. I added 3 tsp. or chicken base along with the vegetables and a TB. of tomato paste. I used a hand blender to blend the soup and then added a handful of macaroni. I did not add any salt as there's a lot of salt in the chicken base. A very satisfying soup. Thanks for the contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Wonderful! The delicious flavor of an unhealthy cream based soup, but it's so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
The only change I wanted to make with this recipe was to eliminate the water and use chicken stock. It made a rich base that was a quick rich hearty supper. Oh, and I used olive oil. Using a hand-held blender cut the prep and cleanup time. Just serve with hot bread and get ready for compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2000
The first time I made this recipe, I served it at a dinner party. My guests could not stop raving about it! For extra flavor, I added sweet chicken/turkey sausage which was also a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
Yummy! I have made this soup twice, once with linguisa and once with chicken Italian sausage. Also, I had to make it with only one can of white kidney beans and one can of regular white beans (the store ran out of the white kidney beans). Both versions were wonderful. I also think that it would be good without the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
This is one of the best soups I've ever made! My family also thought it LOOKED so elegant. I wouldn't change or add a thing to the recipe. It's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Delicious! My husband loved it. He asked me to make it again and to double the recipe! I might add a few delitini noodles next time. VERY GOOD!Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is a delicious soup. Having to blend the soup is a little time consuming and adds a lot more cleanup, but it's really worth it in taste. I left out the thyme and it was still very flavorful. It goes wonderfully with slightly stale white bread. Almost a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe should specify WHITE kidney (cannelini) beans, otherwise there is the problem with the tough skins on the red variety that don't want to blend. The 5 stars I'm giving are based on these changes I made: add 1 can roasted garlic diced tomatos, 1 tbs. tomato paste, 1 tbs. chopped fresh rosemary, 1 tsp. dried rubbed sage, increase the garlic, and don't use the thyme. I also agree with another reviewer that another can of beans is needed, although I just cut back on 1 cup of the liquid instead. I used all broth instead of the water. This recipe as is inspired me to experiment, and I think the spinach is the best part. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Delicious! Very hearty and filling. I took the advice of the previous reviewers and made the following changes: I added 1 can roasted garlic diced tomatos and 1 tbs. tomato paste, and used all broth instead of the water. I also used the suggestion to add fresh rosemary, which was a wonderful addition. My family loved it and I'm sure I'll be making it again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States