Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Used most suggestions from other reviewers and used only chicken broth, fresh rosemary, & extra garlic. Everyone in our home loved it - including kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Absolutely yummy! I've made this several times and have served it to guests and neighbors. Everyone loves it! So comforting! I followed some of the suggestions - didn't dilute with water, if I felt it needed more liquid I added more stock. I use frozen spinach instead of fresh because I've always got that on hand. I definitely add more garlic! And I sautee the veggies first. I also add ground italian sausage if I want a more 'meaty' meal, but even without, this is a very hearty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My review is for this recipe as written. I would suggest using all broth over the water as the base was a little 'thin' tasting. Otherwise it was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is a really yummy soup! I made a couple changes for more flavor; I used two cloves of garlic instead of one, and doubled the amount of thyme. I also added salt to taste, as it was a little bland. I loved the addition of the lemon juice in this recipe, as it gave a unique flavor twist that was very tasty. I used a handheld immersion blender to blend the soup, and was a little disappointed by the result, as it was not very smooth. Next time, I think I'll blend it until smooth in my Vitamix. Altogether, though, I really like this recipe and will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Even with changes to enhance flavor per reviewers suggestions, it's still an okay soup. I do like that it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Amazing!!!! Followed the suggestions of others and added more garlic and fresh chopped rosemary. Also added more lemon juice (almost a full lemon). Used extra chicken broth instead of water and added turkey sausage. Wish I would have added another can of beans like other reviewers suggested. Used a handheld immersion blender instead of regular blender. I was afraid this would be bland, but it is DEFINITELY not!!! This will be added to our regular dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I thought this soup had very little flavor made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I, too, took some advice from other reviewers. I used olive oil, added chicken, and used only chicken stock-no water. I also added a fair amount of garlic pepper mix, a bay leaf, Italian seasoning, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. When it had simmered for a while, I added the spinach to wilt. Finally, in went the lemon juice and the sprinkle of Parmesan. I saw no need to blend the soup. Wonderful flavor. We ate it with buttered crusty rolls. Molto bello dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was a decent soup, a little on the bland side for my tastes. It is incredibly healthy and is good for those that enjoy milder flavored soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
delicious and easy! I added cooked chicken to make it even MORE hearty. My family said to keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States