Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I thought this soup had very little flavor made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I, too, took some advice from other reviewers. I used olive oil, added chicken, and used only chicken stock-no water. I also added a fair amount of garlic pepper mix, a bay leaf, Italian seasoning, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. When it had simmered for a while, I added the spinach to wilt. Finally, in went the lemon juice and the sprinkle of Parmesan. I saw no need to blend the soup. Wonderful flavor. We ate it with buttered crusty rolls. Molto bello dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was a decent soup, a little on the bland side for my tastes. It is incredibly healthy and is good for those that enjoy milder flavored soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
delicious and easy! I added cooked chicken to make it even MORE hearty. My family said to keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I gave this 5 stars because it was easy to make and it was good. I added more garlic and I put in 2 cups of broth to 1 cup water. When you puree the remaining soup and beans, this totally makes the soup taste like you've been slaving all day. I substituted fresh rosemary for the thyme and it made a huge difference! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I doubled the recipe....used olive instead of vegetable and didnt add the 2 cups water. I did add 4 chopped carrots. Loved the lemon in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This soup was delicious and so easy! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this with only minor modifications. I'm trying to save on groceries so I made it with dried white navy beans. It took about an hour to simmer to cook the dried beans after soaking. It was delicious. I'll definitely be making this often. It is economical and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I thought this was delicious and easy. I added chicken to make it more filling. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
What a wonderful soup! I made some accidental and some purposeful changes to the recipe: I didn't add celery because I didn't have any, I used only chicken stock - not plain water, I added leftover chicken just to use it up, I ran out of time to put some of the soup in the blender, and I forgot about the lemon juice. This soup was really so wonderful. I will definitely make it again with celery as called for. I loved it with the chicken, but I also plan to make it without. I doubt I will do the blending step because it was so good the way it was. Thank you for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States