Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
More celery and garlic. I cooked from dry beans and over cooked them so...I put half in at the beginning and added the other half at the end just to heat thru for a few minutes. I didn't blend just let the beans break down. Instead of spinach I used a lb of frozen collard greens that I nuked before adding to the soup. Also added 2 sausage links to use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Excellent. Just used all chicken broth - no water. And added sliced carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Pretty good. I would add at least 4 cloves of garlic in the beginning next time though, but I like alot of garlic. I added garlic powder and a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I, too, added more garlic - but only because no recipe ever has enough for our taste! I also added chicken soup base to the water and used a hand blender. I agree with other reviewers, the hand blender certainly didn't get the soup puree-smooth, but we liked the thicker, more rustic consistency it produced. Finally, LOVED the surprising burst of flavor from the lemon juice! This is an excellent "starter" recipe, which is very easy to adjust for personal taste, and doesn't set off the kid's "too healthy to be good" radar... Woot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymbra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
tried it today. came out just like the picture. its really good and filling. beans help keep my cholesteral down, so if I can make them taste good, its a big plus! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
WOW. One of the best and most flavorful soups I've had. Excellent for the cold weather, but still not too heavy to have any other season. Very refreshing. Go heavy on the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a healthy and simple soup that you can easily modify to suit your taste. I added more spices than it called for, as I think it would be pretty bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Wonderful! My husband added salt, but I liked it just as it was. I did substitute rainbow chard for the spinach, since that's what we had, and doubled the garlic, just because we always double the garlic in every recipe we do. I even gave some to the baby, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was exactly what I wanted for dinner tonight. Before reading the reviews I had already made most of the recommended changes. There seems to be a pretty cohesive opinion that it should have olive oil, more chicken stock and less water, more garlic and thyme (I had to use poultry seasoning) and some type of wonderful cheese. We actually threw some crumbled feta in there with some parm, and it really made it for me. Without the base recipe I wouldn't have known where to start (i just was craving a cozy soup and had lots of spinach to use) so I' m grateful I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Doubled the garlic, used all chicken broth, used 1tsp. Thyme, and used another can of beans. It was so yummy! A great soup to take to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States