Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I added many of the suggested modifications, All broth, added bacon and chicken, a leek instead of an onion and through in extra beans!! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D pie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
So good! followed recipe exactly except more garlic and spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I'm an Italian who loves old school recipes (peasant style similar to this one), but also like to delve into complex recipes. This is one that is a good old school base, but begs for more flavor i.e., more garlic, crushed red pepper, chicken broth (not water), escarole as the green. The celery and onions, along with rosemary, are totally unnecessary. This type of greens and beans is served in many local South Philly restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Read the reviews, they offer a lot of insight on how to make this a great soup. I used 3 cans of Northern White Beans, 1 teaspoon tomato paste, no water, 2 -32 oz organic chicken broth. Topped with fresh parmigiano reggiano and white truffle oil. Oh, and olive oil! This was restaurant quality soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was good. I started out by frying up half a package of bacon (I doubled the recipe) then removing that with a slotted spoon then sautéing the veggies in the bacon grease. Next, I doubled the garlic and after reading reviews I added chicken bouillon cubes because I did add the water....next time I'll just use all chicken broth. Oh, and don't forget to add that yummy bacon back in when it's all finished. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This soup is amazing with some modifications. I replaced the water with low sodium chicken broth, added a 3rd can of beans, and doubled the garllc cloves, thyme, and lemon. I garnished with a drizzle of EVOO, red pepper flakes, cracked black pepper, and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Easy to make. I wanted a hearty filling soup that was relatively healthy for late nights at the office and this fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Love this great lunch! I used a box ( 4cups) of chicken broth in place of water , added a teaspoon of red pepper and double the garlic because I love those flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
We made this according to the recipe. However, we added too much spinach. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I really enjoyed this. It reminded me of a soup I had in Sienna,Italy. I didn't deviate much from the recipe: I added 2 large cloves of garlic, 2 ribs of celery, used EVOO and used 2 chkn bullion cubes instead of a can of stock. I may have used less water next time because I like a bit thicker soup but it was fantastically tasty and very hearty. I very much enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States