Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I've made this a couple of times and love it. I used vegetable broth since that 's all I stock but added 2 non chicken broth cubes and 2 red curry broth cubes from Edwards & Sons. So delicious. This time Instead of spinach, I added Kale. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Good! Did what a lot of others did and eliminated the water and used more broth. Also with the veggies added one very large carrot finely diced. Love so put a lot extra. Be sure to use lots of pepper and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Fabulous as written. Can be easily converted to a heartier soup with the addition of carrots, roasted tomatoes,...and additional herbs to balance the flavour. I used a bouquet garni of Rosemary, parsley and Thyme. And I didn't purée it. My dad is 97 and tasty, nutritious meals like this are sheer perfection. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This came together quite quickly and was delicious! Perfect for a cold drizzly evening. I used vegetable broth for all liquid - no water. Two cloves of garlic instead of one. Topped with homemade croutons from a baguette I had around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very rich and flavorful soup. I'm not a big bean soup enthusiast, but I loved this recipe. The lemon juice took it from a 4-star recipe to 5 stars. Followed the recipe exactly, but I really packed in the spinach (around 6 cups sliced).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I thought this was good but I blended an extra can of beans to make it thicker, after I did that it was the perfect consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
A great soup on a cold day. I used all veggie stock, added more garlic, and olive oil. I seasoned with salt and pepper as it cooked, making sure it was well seasoned. Served with fresh parsley, Parmesan, and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I added many of the suggested modifications, All broth, added bacon and chicken, a leek instead of an onion and through in extra beans!! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D pie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
So good! followed recipe exactly except more garlic and spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I'm an Italian who loves old school recipes (peasant style similar to this one), but also like to delve into complex recipes. This is one that is a good old school base, but begs for more flavor i.e., more garlic, crushed red pepper, chicken broth (not water), escarole as the green. The celery and onions, along with rosemary, are totally unnecessary. This type of greens and beans is served in many local South Philly restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States