Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
with minor changes to boost the flavor...same ones as previous posters.......used chicken stock instead of water a bay leaf and an extra clove of garlic. I also added chicken to mine just because I had leftover bits from a roasted chicken the night before and this was a good "home" to toss them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greekgoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was great. My kids didn't eat it, but I was expecting that. I used water and beef bullion (only had 1 can of chicken stock) instead of the 2 cups of water. I also added more garlic, rosemary, no celery and used frozen spinach and added frozen broccoli as well. Ate it with buttered bread. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is such a quick recipe for such an elegant soup! I loved this. I used chicken broth in place of the water and added more garlic. I also used a dollop of sour cream when I added the blended mixture to the soup. It gave the soup a great color and added a subtle creamy taste! I will definitely make this recipe again...it took me only 20 minutes, start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very Yummy. I added a little more garlic, sprinkled in some tarragon, and added some ground beef. Easy, inexpensive, and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was okay as directed, but it was too thick and too bland. I ended up adding 3 cups of chicken broth so that it was more like a soup and less like a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a great bean soup recipe. To make mine heartier, I added an extra can of beans after pureeing the soup. At the suggestion of others, I also used a lot more garlic (5 cloves) and threw in a bay leaf while sauteeing the vegetables. Tarragon is a great susbstitue for the thyme. Just use a couple of tablespoons of whole fresh tarragon leaves in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used 5 cloves of garlic, some thyme, and some dried parsley. I also used escarole instead of spinach - which was delish! And a bay leaf. I also used 32 oz of chicken broth instead of the water, but there was a little too much liquid - I'll try for 28 oz next time. So to soak up the extra broth, I added half a box of orzo noodles, uncooked, to the pot, and let it soak up the additional liquid. It came out more like a stew than a soup, but it was delicious! I will make it the same way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great basic recipe. I used a large onion, 2 cloves of garlic, and 2 cans of chicken stock - omitting the water. Very tasty and satisfying, however next time I will start with sauteing some pancetta then adding the onion. Also when I make this soup again I will add the chicken sausage suggested by one of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was delicious! I did add some pancetta for some added flavor. My husband went crazy over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States