Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
added more garlic, chopped basil, fennel seed, chopped carrot, crushed red pepper flakes and italian sausage--loved it with the additions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Tasty! I didn't bother doing any of the blender stuff, though - I just left it all whole and simmered together and thought it was yummy. I did make a few changes, but I don't think they were so radical that it ended up being a different recipe, so I'll still rate/comment. I reduced the recipe to 2 servings, added ground chicken, forgot to buy celery so I added celery seed, skipped the water, and simply added enough low sodium veggie broth to cover the other ingredients. It ended up being thick and stew-like, which I liked. I did have to add more seasonings in the end to give it a little more kick flavor-wise, but I tried rosemary (like other reviewers suggested) in one bowl and didn't care for it, so I ended up just adding more pepper as well as some garlic powder. Definitely hearty and healthy, so I found this very satisfying and will most certainly make it again. Thanks, colleenlora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A great soup as is or with some alterations. I always add fresh parsley as one reviewer suggested and it really makes a difference. My husband prefers it without the lemon but I think the lemon gives it a nice tang. I add the lemon just before serving. I also add a little milk and next time I might try a mix of chickpeas and white kidney beans. It is not difficult to make and it's healthy and tasty. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Yummy! I added shredded rotisserie chicken, delightful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Only an average, 3-star recipe as written with obvious flaws, but I saw its potential to become something wonderful so I made this knowing I would be putting my spin on it. I can say for certain that Italians wouldn't use vegetable oil, so it wouldn't be used in soup either...change to olive oil. The soup looked like it needed a serious boost of flavor, so I started by using some homemade chicken broth I had in the freezer that also had pieces of chicken in it - and no water. I didn't understand why the submitter chose to dilute her soup with water! I also sauteed some chopped bacon (more flavor!) in a little olive oil, then added the onions, celery and extra garlic and thyme. I think these changes really did the trick because this turned out to be really outstanding! I served it with a mix of freshly grated Parmesan and Romano cheeses, then gave it a finish of a drizzle of white truffle oil, which took this over the top! So with a couple of small but important changes this is definitely a 5-star soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is Fabulous with alittle chopped pancetta!!!Delicious Italian version of bean and bacon soup!!Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This soup was fantastic! I added extra lemon as I was using it as a first course (so portions were small). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I was looking for something different to make for my weekday lunches and this is it! Flavorful, fragrant, filling without making you feel stuffed and/or bloated mid-day. The addition of the lemon gives it just the right amount of tang and the simplicity of the ingredients combines to make one powerful combination of tastes. The only change to the actual recipe I made was I used all chicken broth in place of the water, and I might have added a handful more of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManxGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
We did not care for this soup. It was watery and bland. I love the combo of beans and greens in soups, but this one just didn't measure up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Yummy! I LOVE having soup -so I am always looking for a new soup recipe. This one will become a regular. I like that it is easy to add on to. I added some ham. Oh, I did make a little mistake, I added about a 1 TBL of thyme, but I still thought that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States