Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I used this as my basic recipe but I also used a leftover smoked ham bone. Instead of spinachy I used escarole - it is much heartier. I gave to this friends that eat and make a lot od soup. They both raved and were so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eastport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Not the best soup I've ever had, but not awful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummy! I followed some advice from other commenters and added some additional garlic and swapped out the water for extra stock. I also added some turkey bacon at the end. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was a very delicious savory soup that we enjoyed eating for breakfast and lunch. I made a few substitutions, including using 3 cans of Trapper's brand Navy Beans flavored with bacon. Two cans were drained and then added to the vegetables and broth (we used chicken bouillon and water). The third undrained can was blended with a cup of the vegetable and broth mix, until smooth. I used a drained can of spinach instead of fresh or frozen. At this point the soup was a little salty, so I added about a ½ cup of water and ½ tsp or so of thyme and pepper, and then let it simmered for about an hour. The final product was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great Soup. Used broccoli instead of spinach but I'm sure spinach would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
added more garlic, chopped basil, fennel seed, chopped carrot, crushed red pepper flakes and italian sausage--loved it with the additions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Tasty! I didn't bother doing any of the blender stuff, though - I just left it all whole and simmered together and thought it was yummy. I did make a few changes, but I don't think they were so radical that it ended up being a different recipe, so I'll still rate/comment. I reduced the recipe to 2 servings, added ground chicken, forgot to buy celery so I added celery seed, skipped the water, and simply added enough low sodium veggie broth to cover the other ingredients. It ended up being thick and stew-like, which I liked. I did have to add more seasonings in the end to give it a little more kick flavor-wise, but I tried rosemary (like other reviewers suggested) in one bowl and didn't care for it, so I ended up just adding more pepper as well as some garlic powder. Definitely hearty and healthy, so I found this very satisfying and will most certainly make it again. Thanks, colleenlora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A great soup as is or with some alterations. I always add fresh parsley as one reviewer suggested and it really makes a difference. My husband prefers it without the lemon but I think the lemon gives it a nice tang. I add the lemon just before serving. I also add a little milk and next time I might try a mix of chickpeas and white kidney beans. It is not difficult to make and it's healthy and tasty. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachmaree

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States