Creamy Italian White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Pamela
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I just made this. I think a fresh bunch of chopped cilantro would be great next time. I served it with shredded cheddar cheese on top. Also I think more garlic would be good too. Easy and fast it what I like. It has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Delicious, and I will definitely make it again, but I made changes based on other reviews. I browned lean bacon and sautéed the veggies in the render fat plus some additional olive oil and used all chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letslite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I doubled the batch and added 1 lb of crumbled, cooked bacon. I served it with fresh bread from the bread machine. My kids LOVED it!!! It is now frequently on our winter menu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I took previous suggestions and increased the thyme, olive oil, lemons juice and really increased the garlic, as well as added lemon zest. I left off the broth for a lower sodium option and it really turned out great. Do not forget the parmesan with the lemon at the end. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Excellent ! Especially with a little drizzle of olive oil right before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love this. Granted, I haven't put the spinach in yet, but I can tell it's going to be wonderful once the flavors meld. As written, I can see where it'd be a little bland ... but everyone's tastes are different and the concept itself is simple and perfect. I did omit the water and used all chicken broth. I also used my own pre-cooked cannelli (sp) beans (yeah - the white kidney ones). Threw in extra garlic and then a chunk of parmesan cheese rind for added depth of flavor. *IF* I had had an open tube of tomato paste, I think I might have thrown a tablespoon of that in as well. But I didn't (shrug). I will next time (grin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
LOVE!!! I've made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was a pleasant soup. I cheated a little and used frozen chopped spinach and my homemade chicken broth which worked out fine. I also added a shredded chicken breast. Although good, next time I would add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Basic's of soup alright, but needed a large amount of modifying to make it a 5 star recipe. We used EVOO instead of vegetable oil,we used more garlic and only a half of a sweet onion. We also used less liquid, using only 2 cans of chicken Broth and no water. I also cut up the spinach and did not use as much as was called for in the recipe. I did not use the Thyme or lemon juice, but used crushed red pepper and rosemary for spices. Also we used two different varieties of white beans, and we did not puree any of the broth and beans, with less liquid it thickened enough for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We tried a lot of the suggested alterations and gave this a fair shot, and it was still gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States