Creamy Italian Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
If you also add some dried basil, thyme and parsley the flavor will be more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is the best dressing I have ever tasted! My husband & I luv it! I just add a little red onion chopped very fine but it doesn't need it, just my preference. I have made it for our neighbors and they are ready to drink it and put it on everything. Good job Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
the only addition i made was additional garlic. excellent on chicken pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I loved this dressing! I usually don't like dressings with mayo, but this one is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This recipe was good, except that it had an odd type of tanginess due to the lemon juice. I've never tasted that in an Italian dressing before, and I didn't care much for it, so I made a 2nd batch. I left out the lemon juice, and added 2T romano cheese, 1/2t dried Italian seasoning blend in place of the 1/4t of plain oregano, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil (now that's Italian!) and it tasted a lot better. The added water, in my opinion, should be adjusted (I left it out) depending on how thick you like your dressing, so you may want to add that last. This is a decent 'base' dressing that allows for some creativity, but didn't hold up too well on its own as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Amazing! added 1 extra clove of garlic, and fresh basil, no sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious! The only salad dressing my daughter has ever eaten for the first time and loved. She actually didn't eat my chili supper and asked for salad seconds! My 7 yr old even remarked, "You never hear that!" So thanks for posting. (PS I ran out of mayo so filled it out a bit with some half and half cream - worked well). I used my Magic Bullet to mix it. It kind of emulsified beautifully giving it a bit of "grab" on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I am so impressed with this yummy dressing! I love the idea of making my own dressing at home without preservatives! Highly recommend - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tugba Emily Madaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars after using it for several years as an excellent base for other creamy dressings. As written, it is a mild tasting creamy garlic dressing or dip. You really must let it sit for at least four hours for the flavors to develop fully! To make a creamy Italian as the original poster intended, I like to add more vinegar and an Italian blend for the herbs. However, you can add other ingredients as well, to taste. Parmesan cheese; a little tomato paste or ketchup; fresh ground peppercorns; different vinegars (try tarragon infused white wine vinegar and change the herbs to tarragon); buttermilk; use your imagination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States