Creamy Italian Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was better the next day, however, I still had to add a few things to give it more flavor. Here are my changes: add 1/4 sour cream, 1/8 tsp dill, 1/2 tsp basil and 1/8 cup parm cheese. Those additions really make the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This dressing is restaurant quality. With homemade dressings of this quality, there's absolutely no reason to buy it at the store. The flavor of this recipe reminds me of one of the house dressings at a steakhouse in Iowa called "The Pink Poodle." It may not be as good, but it's pretty darn close. Honestly, I wouldn't change a thing--unless you just "have" to--so you can put your own stamp on it. I am not a big Italian dressing fan, but CREAMY Italian, with a recipe like this, is well worth having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Really zesty and flavorful. I added a little extra garlic. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This recipie is a real winner. I add more garlic than suggested. I also add parm and romano cheeses. I have been looking for years for a creamy Italian dressing like this one. It is just like the dressing they serve in a little Italian place in The Bronx, N.Y. Thanks so much Christine for sharing this recipie. It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I replaced the mayo with miracle whip, left out the water and the sugar. Used white wine vinegar to make a great dressing for lobster salad. I guess I still don't understand the fascination with adding sugar to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of creamy italian, but my husband asked for it with dinner so I gave this a try. It was pretty good. I used Hellman's lite mayo, olive oil vs. veg., added a little dried basil and some parmesan cheese. I also let it set in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Excellent recipe! I added 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, used 1-1/2 cloves of garlic instead of just one, and some freshly ground pepper. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is the first dressing I've ever made, so I'm really not able to compare it to any others... But I found it very simple to make, and very tasty. Much more unique and tangy then a store-bought dressing. It was a little thick though at first so I put in extra water, and would recommend only 1/2c. of mayonnaise. Also, adding ground pepper was great b/c it added a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Hmmmm, I hate to be a wet blanket here, but this recipe didn't thrill me. The mayo taste was too strong and the herbs didn't have much impact. It did taste better after being refrigerated a day or two, but it still isn't something I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
My husband loves this dressing! If tastes even better after a few hours for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States