Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Hi, all. I'm the Cathy who submitted this recipe, and I'm glad to be able to share it with those of you who have been enjoying it. It is still my favorite dressing. I just wanted to step back in and make a few comments for those who weren't satisfied. It was mentioned that the dressing tastes like biting into a plain onion, and that it was hot, and another used a red onion and not all the sugar. You will notice the onion ingredient says "1/2 a SMALL onion". This would be approximately 1/2 cup chopped, and please do use a mild white onion. The hot onion definitely makes the dressing hot and bitter. The kind of onion used will affect the flavor of the dressing. Another used just garlic salt and recommended not to use the extra salt. The recipe doesn't call for garlic salt but garlic powder, which has no salt in it. Yet another didn't use the onion at all, only an Italian seasoning packet. In my opinion, to write a review on a recipe requires you follow the recipe as written and not make substitutions, otherwise you are writing a review on the recipe as you changed it. I hope you continue to enjoy this fabulous dressing, and for those who didn't enjoy it, you might give it another chance using the instructions as written. Then if you don't like it, you'll be entirely justified in your opinion! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
747 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
My husband always orders Creamy Italian dressing in restaurants, but I could never find a good version at the grocery store. I had all the ingredients on hand and literally whipped this up in five minutes; he tried it and said, "That's the one! Don't change a thing!" Thanks, Cathy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This dressing was really great - the key is to let it sit overnight before serving because once the flavors meld it is wonderful. I did change the recipe a bit - I used bottled minced garlic rather than garlic powder and did not use onion in the dressing at all (because since I was using lots of onions in the salad it just wasnt necessary to have it in the dressing - and I thought that the garlic substitution made up for it). The only thing I didnt like about this dressing was that I used dried Italian seasoning - maybe mine isnt a good brand or something but I though it made the dressing taste very fake-herby or something (although once you mix it with the salad you cant tell that). Next time I will definitely use fresh herbs - basil, oregano, tarragon, parsley and rosemary - that makes it a little more expensive to make but it is so worth it to pack all of those fresh herby flavors into the dressing. Recommendations for a great Italian salad to go with this dressing: Iceberg and Romaine lettuce, plum tomatoes, provolone cheese, broccoli, red onion, garbanzo beans, pepperoncini, roasted red peppers and homemade croutons (these are KEY - get really well seasoned fresh croutons from the farmers market). I made an enormous amount of salad and my guests devoured all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I used half olive oil mayonnaise, half fat free sour cream, I used six green onions sliced thin and I doubled the spices. Awesome dip for raw vegetables. You should have heard me. I was just "mmmmm'ing" away. I did thin it down a bit with fat free milk. NOTE: I did NOT add the sugar, but that's a personal choice not reflective of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I somehow thought this would be quite thick, but it's quite liquid and pourable after going through the blender. I really love it over pasta type salads, but also works well on greens. A real keeper (meaning I keep it in my refrigerator all the time)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
After reading the reviews I decided to do everything exactly as the recipe called for.. but add the sugar a bit at a time to make sure it wasnt too much. In the end I only used about 3/4 of the sugar but the dressing is incredible. This is def the new house dressing in THIS house! Thanks so much for such a simple yet amazing recipe.. I cant wait to have company over so I can show it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
This is a delicious salad dressing; I'll definitely make it again. It reminds me of the house dressing served at one of my favorite Italian restaurants. The spices and the mayo blend together perfectly. Thanks for sharing it, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Very nice dressing.. However, I did replace the Italian seasoning with fresh Basil and fresh Rosemary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Overall, very tasty. I used Hellman's light mayo and a little under 1/2 cup of a vidalia onion. I also added some minced garlic and a bit of basil. This was great over a garden salad with garlic croutons and shredded Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Wonderful dressing! In addition to the garlic powder, I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and doubled the italian seasoning...it came out perfectly seasoned (but we like highly seasoned food) and got RAVE REVIEWS from my boyfriend. Be sure to not use more than half an onion, though...i decided to use about 3/4 so as not to have a 1/4 onion left over and it was quite pungent. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States