Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I use this as a base for a 'creamy' cold italian pasta salad. Do not substitute! You will not have the same, great flavor. This is a great dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wonderful! I used 1/2 cup white onion as Cathy suggested and the dressing came out perfect. Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I decided to try a quick pasta salad and wanted a creamy Italian dressing. I really had no idea if there was such a thing having only used the typical one. I decided to search "Allrecipes" and was surprised and pleased to come across this one. I made it according to the recipe and was so happy with the outcome that I quickly shared it with my sister and both of my daughters! It really was my kind of recipe: few ingredients, easy and delicious! Thank you Cathy for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wow, talk about authentic! The bonus is how easy it is to make. I do recommend letting it sit overnight to let the flavours meld together. Thanks Cathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Love this dressing. Making salad dressings from scratch is still relatively new to me, but this one is a keeper and we have made it three times already since we first tried it about a month ago. Love being able to avoid the preservatives etc. in store-bought bottled dressings. So far we have made as written (except once when I accidentally used too much onion), but plan on trying soon with minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Definitely note Cathy's 10/10/2003 comment stating that onion should be about 1/2 cup. And sweet, of course. Thanks, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
REALLY good. I did of course change it some. I used homemade mayo, didn't add sugar, used a red onion, and used Italian Dressing Mix (minus the sugar in it) on this website for the Italian seasoning. Very delicious! This will def be a regular item in our house.. maybe with some feta cheese thrown in there every once in a while :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Terrific dressing! I used a smaller amount of Splenda instead of sugar and used reconstituted dried onions as I had no sweet fresh onion. Very tasty & extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Small is so relative a term- I think the recipe needs onion, but start with a little and maybe add if needed. I used whole garlic, two bulbs the first time, one the second. I think the onion and garlic are what makes it yummy but be careful it is not too overpowering. It benefits from being made in advanced. Work with it to your taste. This rating is not based on store dressings- I don't know any good store dressings. But it has been a great find in my house, easy and quick, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very yummy dressing! I used all the ingredients listed (the mayo was Smart Balance light mayo), and added a little bit of fresh chopped basil and rosemary because I happened to have it on hand. I also added an extra tablespoon of vinegar and 2 tablespoons of milk to make it easier to pour. My husband keeps raving about this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as directed. I do not think you can change or substitute ingredients if you are going to review the recipe, because you are then reviewing YOUR version of the recipe. Having said that, "1/2 of a small onion" would be better if described in weight; a small onion is subjective; and what kind of onion? I guessed and used a white onion. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. It can always be seasoned to taste, once made -- to your liking. But as directed, this recipe is everything a creamy Italian dressing should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna McGinnis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States