Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
All I can tell you is my husband said this was the best creamy Italian he has ever tasted. I did use my own Italian spice blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I just made this for the first time and used it right away. I can already tell this is going to be a favorite in our house, and I know it will be better after the flavors meld. The only change was white wine vinegar - didn't have the red. And I know my onions are feisty, so I cut back on them. I love making my own salad dressings because I can control what goes in them. Thanks, Cathy, for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The first time I made this, I was looking for something to mimick a dressing at a restaurant that I love. I used it on an Italian salad with salami, artichokes, black olives, garbanzo beans, red onion, cucumber, & tomato. I thought it was SO good! It was gone in a week! I made it again today with a few tweaks: I used apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, added in a bit of buttermilk to thin it just a tad, about 2 TBSP each of red and green peppers, I was more heavy handed with the spices and added some smoked paprika. BOOM! So great! So happy I can now create this salad at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This dressing received mixed reviews in my house. I thought the flavor was good, although it did have a strong onion flavor. I did only use about 1/2 cup of onion as suggested by the recipe author in her review. The only thing I didn't like was that it was very thin and didn't cling to the salad. It was just slightly thicker than milk. I used a good quality mayonnaise, so, I don't know if my onion had quite a bit of juice in it, but, it definitely needed to be thicker for my taste. My husband didn't like the dressing at all. He thought it had too strong of a onion flavor, was too sweet, & didn't taste like a creamy Italian dressing at all. I might try again, but, use less onion and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've made this dressing several times now & we all love it! I used a milder onion as suggested & it did not overpower the dressing. I love that this recipe is easy to make & the ingredients are things you usually have on hand. Simple yet full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Awesome. I just decided to try something new. The only thing I would change would be less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexthomas58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Flavorful dressing fabulous with mixed greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Tasty dressing, a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I needed to dress up a pasta salad that I'd made from the box so I made a 1/2 recipe of this dressing and used it.. it was very, very good. I'd make this again for sure. I like the creaminess of this better than an oil & vinegar based dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
THIS IS DELISH!!..I think it deserves 5 stars but with the few minor changes, I had to give it 4...I only used half the sugar and half the vinegar...I stirred well then put in mason jar in fridge to let set...was perfect texture...I think maybe the blender would make it a little too liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States