Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Wow, talk about authentic! The bonus is how easy it is to make. I do recommend letting it sit overnight to let the flavours meld together. Thanks Cathy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Love this dressing. Making salad dressings from scratch is still relatively new to me, but this one is a keeper and we have made it three times already since we first tried it about a month ago. Love being able to avoid the preservatives etc. in store-bought bottled dressings. So far we have made as written (except once when I accidentally used too much onion), but plan on trying soon with minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Definitely note Cathy's 10/10/2003 comment stating that onion should be about 1/2 cup. And sweet, of course. Thanks, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
REALLY good. I did of course change it some. I used homemade mayo, didn't add sugar, used a red onion, and used Italian Dressing Mix (minus the sugar in it) on this website for the Italian seasoning. Very delicious! This will def be a regular item in our house.. maybe with some feta cheese thrown in there every once in a while :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Terrific dressing! I used a smaller amount of Splenda instead of sugar and used reconstituted dried onions as I had no sweet fresh onion. Very tasty & extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Small is so relative a term- I think the recipe needs onion, but start with a little and maybe add if needed. I used whole garlic, two bulbs the first time, one the second. I think the onion and garlic are what makes it yummy but be careful it is not too overpowering. It benefits from being made in advanced. Work with it to your taste. This rating is not based on store dressings- I don't know any good store dressings. But it has been a great find in my house, easy and quick, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very yummy dressing! I used all the ingredients listed (the mayo was Smart Balance light mayo), and added a little bit of fresh chopped basil and rosemary because I happened to have it on hand. I also added an extra tablespoon of vinegar and 2 tablespoons of milk to make it easier to pour. My husband keeps raving about this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as directed. I do not think you can change or substitute ingredients if you are going to review the recipe, because you are then reviewing YOUR version of the recipe. Having said that, "1/2 of a small onion" would be better if described in weight; a small onion is subjective; and what kind of onion? I guessed and used a white onion. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. It can always be seasoned to taste, once made -- to your liking. But as directed, this recipe is everything a creamy Italian dressing should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna McGinnis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Overall it was a decent recipe, however, next time I am going to half the onion as it was overpowering in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
It was amazingly good! I tried it EXACTLY as written and couldn't have asked for a more perfect blend of spices. You can add it to pasta for a cold pasta salad or just a dip. After only a few minutes of completion, it was so tasty. I think when the onions and garlic powder start to really work their magic, it will get even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This is a really, really good dressing exactly as written. I have had many people ask for the recipe. Tonight I used it in a pasta salad with tomatos , peppers, olives, but any vegetable you like would work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States