Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this dressing for the shelter meal tonight. I've made it before. One of the best dressings I've ever had. Although, it's not flavorful enough. I added a bit more italian seasoning, but it wasn't enough. So, everything besides onion and mayo I tend to double, even the vinegar. I also used shallots instead of onion since I was out of onion. I think that could be a good substitute for people who think that onion is too much. It's a bit milder and sweeter than an onion. I'm not a fan of bottled Italian dressing which tends to be loads of stabilizers and chunks of unidentifiable stuff in a golden or plain white creamy dressing. Every recipe I've found, with a few tweaks, has been just amazing. I freakin crave this dressing when I make it! I'll have 3 salads a day just so I can use this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is my new favorite! I am always looking for recipes that I can tweak a little to fit a low carb diet without changing the flavor too much, and this one worked out perfectly - I used onion powder instead of the chopped onions and 2 tsp. of Splenda in place of the sugar. It was delicious and is the closest I have ever tasted to my favorite restaurant dressing. I may add a little extra garlic powder in the next batch, even though it is good as is - we just love garlic in my house. It turned out very creamy and thick enough to use for a vegie dip as well as a salad dressing. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godess6042

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yet another favorite dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I halved the recipe, since there's just 2 of us and wanted to be able to use it up in a couple of days. Used a small clove of garlic instead of powder and added about a tablespoon of grated Parmesan cheese. Used my immersion blender to mix it up. We really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Our go to salad dressing, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very good and so very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Really like this creamy italian. I used onion powder because I just wanted to mix it by hand. That was really the only change I made. I suppose you could sub other vinegars or lemom juice. It was pretty thick and probably could be thinned a little with milk, olive oil etc. So many possibilities. Will def. make again and again Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delicious! As someone else said, it is as good or better than the house creamy italian dressing at our favorite italian restaurant. Thanks for sharing. (Out of preference, I left out the sugar and it is still delicious). I am done buying store salad dressings. I have so many bottles of dressing in the frig that were only used once. What a waste. This is much more economical. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was very good. I used what I had on hand which was 2 cloves of garlic, crema mexicana, mayo, a little sour cream, 1/2 small yellow onion, dried basil, 2 tblsps white wine vinegar, 3/4 tblsps sugar (I would cut this down next time--maybe 1/2 tblsp), sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. Really loved it! And easily adaptable to ingredients you have in the frig or pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
THE BEST DRESSING I HAVE EVER MADE. THANKS FOR SHARING CATHY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States