Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was a great salad dressing. I used a shallot instead of an onion because I felt an onion might be too strong for my taste. I also added 1/4 cp of fresh shredded parmesean cheese because I add cheese to everything. It is my favorite dressing and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This turned out fabulous. Make sure you follow Cathy's advice (the first comment) re: onions. I used 1/2 C. chopped sweet onion and it turned out perfectly - not bitter or overly sharp. In fact, my onion was so sweet that I didn't need the sugar and had to add a little lemon juice to cut it . . . So make sure you taste it before sweetening. Otherwise followed recipe exactly, using homemade mayo instead of store-bought. My husband says this is the best dressing ever and it really livens up a dinnertime salad (especially if used on dark greens with red/orange peppers). Also makes a very good veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. It was impressive . When ready to serve I blended it thru the salad rather than on top. I used it on romaine lettuce and added grape tomatoes, black olives and onions. I served it with Italian chicken and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jee jee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
nice recipe,after i ate it on my salad i cut up veggies to eat with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Good but not great. I think this would make an awesome dressing for poatoe salad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used half mayo and half fat free yogurt, worked great. Otherwise kept to the recipe. Definitely need to let it sit overnight before using. Too sweet for my tastes, and I think I would like more vinegar, but otherwise I thought it was good. Will try again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
UPDATE: MADE THIS FOR THE 2ND TIME (ENTERTAINED AGAIN!). MY GUESTS LOVED IT!!! This was great! I was making dinner for a guest (and my fiance) a couple of weeks ago and could not find a salad recipe I wanted to make; the ones I found were too labor-intensive - I was running errands all weeekend and didn't have much spare time to spend in the kitchen making any of them). Since I had bought a bagged salad mix the week prior, this was perfect! I was able to use up something that would have otherwise gone to waste AND my dinner guest LOVED this!!! Prep couldn't be easier too (I didn't even have to chop my onion!). My only regret is that I only mde half the recipe (I only had 1/2 cups worth of mayo left in the fridge) lol! :-( Other than adding a little milk to thin to my liking (as is, this is very thick - almost too thick, IMHO), I made no other changes. If it weren't for the thickness issue, I would have given 5 stars, but tastewise, this is certainly deserving of the most superb rating. I think this would be an excellent dip for veggies as is. Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
A nice way to change up your salad. It's similar to my favorite dressing at the neighborhood Italian restaurant. I had to sub dried minced onion but it still turned out fine. I would try real onion next time and I bet it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious! I made this exactly per the recipe, except that I took about 1.5 T of the chopped onion out of the food processor because it looked like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
sorry, just not a fan. My husband said it was "edible". Too sweet, too onion-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States