Creamy Italian Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I just made this for a family get together we are having tomorrow, and I am disappointed. It tastee very sweet and onion-y (and I was careful to use just a small amount of onion). I also could really taste the mayo. We don't usually eat many creamy dressings, so maybe I am just not used to a creamy dressing taste. It is also possible that the flavors will come together and it will be better tomorrow. Update- the family all liked it. I still didn't but I am not an onion fan, so maybe that's the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Cathy you are absolutely right about following a recipe exactly then if not to your taste adjust it the next time. I am a true fan of this recipe and it always gets rave reviews. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIVERTOWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Really good and easy to make. I made two changes because of my diet: 1) I used agave syrup in place of the sugar since I don't eat sugar and 2) I replaced the mayo with sour cream because I don't eat canola oil BUT this was really good and I'm adding it to my salad dressing rotation. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious if you follow the directions as written. Thank you so much Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Sensational!! Kind of combined this recipe with another Creamy Italian Dressing recipe on this site. But used this as the base. Followed to a T as written, then added 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp dried oregano & about a 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Did not change a thing. I get rave reviews every time I make this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was a great salad dressing. I used a shallot instead of an onion because I felt an onion might be too strong for my taste. I also added 1/4 cp of fresh shredded parmesean cheese because I add cheese to everything. It is my favorite dressing and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This turned out fabulous. Make sure you follow Cathy's advice (the first comment) re: onions. I used 1/2 C. chopped sweet onion and it turned out perfectly - not bitter or overly sharp. In fact, my onion was so sweet that I didn't need the sugar and had to add a little lemon juice to cut it . . . So make sure you taste it before sweetening. Otherwise followed recipe exactly, using homemade mayo instead of store-bought. My husband says this is the best dressing ever and it really livens up a dinnertime salad (especially if used on dark greens with red/orange peppers). Also makes a very good veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. It was impressive . When ready to serve I blended it thru the salad rather than on top. I used it on romaine lettuce and added grape tomatoes, black olives and onions. I served it with Italian chicken and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jee jee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
nice recipe,after i ate it on my salad i cut up veggies to eat with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States