Creamy Italian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times and my family loves it. The only thing I would say keeps it from getting 5 stars is it is very salty...without adding any salt. I serve this dish over egg noodles with a side of Normandy style veggies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I make this recipe often and my family loves it! I mostly serve it with noodles, but it's great over rice, too! Pretty rich, but fabulous! It's good even without the mushroom pieces as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmeakim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
There are 4 hungry Man/Boys (ages 17-22) at my table inhaling this. I asked; "How many stars?" They said; "Ten!" I would give this a 4 - kinda reminds me of cafeteria food. Not my thing. The man/boys are happy! I cooked this with 3 large frozen chicken breasts & knew I would be gone all day at work. It got 7 hours in the crock pot on low & I shredded the chicken instead of cubing it because it started out frozen. Added almost 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes & some black pepper because that is our thing. It tastes good - I would tweak it with veggies & onions next time. Good base! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
i make something like this. i use cream of chicken soup and italian herb cooking cream (cream cheese). serve it on buns. i cook it in the crockpot for 6-8 hours. yummmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My husband and I love this dish. It is so easy to make, he could even do it. Tee hee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this before and would have only given it 2 stars BUT I did the following the second time around and made it a 5 star winner: Sear 1.5-2 pounds of chicken thighs in olive oil, salt pepper and garlic powder on both sides, remove from skillet and cut into chunks. Add to slow cooker and cook as directed. Use one small box baby bella sliced mushrooms instead of canned, sauteed in olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic with 1/2 cup diced onion until soft (5-7 min). Set aside. Proceed with recipe as directed, adding the mushrooms after adding the cream cheese mixture (don't beat the mushrooms). WOW!! This was spectacular! Solved the very bland taste I got the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have actually made this recipe once before and neither my husband nor I really liked it. However, I decided to make it again with some modifications and it turned out quite nice. I used a can of Progresso vegtable classics creamy mushroom soup, 1/3 of the cream cheese (as the first time it was unbearable), added some onion powder, parsley, fresh black pepper, and a little parm on top. I used two frozen chicken breasts and just watched it. I served it over egg noodles and some boiled potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheliaH
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is my new favorite recipe. Everyone loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms and next time I'll double the cream cheese and soup to make more sauce to pour over the noodles. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Sour cream would probably make it more like a stroganoff. I prefer the flavor of cream cheese. The picture posted is not one I put there. I use linguini noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurQuist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I found this recipe on here and have been making it for over a year now. It has become a staple in my household. It's one of the few things all my kids and I enjoy. Over time I have found that when I take the chicken out of the slow cooker to cut up I can add the cream cheese (cut into 6 or 8 smaller pieces) and the soup to the hot Italian mix and just whisk by hand right in the slow cooker. This saves me from dragging out the mixer. I then add frozen peas, the cubed chicken and a little seasoning. I let it warm up about another 30 minutes. It's really wonderful over rice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States