Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My family didn't "love" this recipe, but I made some changes based on other reviews and what I had on hand. I lowered the sugar to half a cup and it was still very sweet. I used almond milk in place of the regular milk and evaporated milk in lieu of the heavy cream because they are what I had on hand. I also added about a cup of strong black coffee (this was only made for adults) to help cut the sweetness. Overall it's a great basic recipe that is easy to make and customize for particular tastes, etc. I'll definitely make this again during the holiday season. I'll be adding cinnamon and peppermint to the recipe because that's how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing! I made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it! Instead of adding cream, I just added milk to cool it down. Perfect for any hot cocoa loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I am surprised at all the reviews that said it is too sweet. I don't have a sweet tooth and thought this was just right. Followed the recipe exactly. I will never use a packet of hot chocolate again. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Wonderful! Thick and just the right amount of sweetness. One time I substituted vanilla ice cream for the milk/vanilla, as we ran out of milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe was written and it was wonderful! It is very sweet so I do think cutting back to 1/2 cup sugar does taste better in my opinion. It has a nice grown up cocoa taste, not at all like a sugary kids lumpy hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Massey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Nice hot cocoa. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and didn't add the 1/2 & 1/2. I also used a raw unsweetened cacao which in my opinion has a richer chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This hot cocoa is very good but too sweet and I only added half cup of sugar it was still too sweet but other than that it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very good. I agree with Adam, much better than packaged mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Love the recipe but a little too sweet. Made a few adjustments. Used 1/2 cup of sugar Used 3 table spoons of french vanilla creamer in the coffee cups instead of half and half and vanilla. Topped with whip cream and peppermint sprinkles. For an adult beverage try it with peppermint schnapps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Wonderful stuff! Just made this recipe with Hershey Special Dark cocoa powder. I added a dash of cinnamon and cayenne to give it a spicy kick. Enjoying a cup with my daughter now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri Daves White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States