Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Really good on this cold morning! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I don't normally rate stuff but had to on this. I make this after every snow adventure or anytime we play out in the cold. I stopped buying the packets bc this is the best I've ever had! We add marshmallows and it's perfect! If someone rates this bad you had to of made it wrong or can't taste its the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I have a two year old little boy, Robbie, who loves to "cook". I should now, I'm not the cook of the house asimpler, the better for me. We made this this morning (minus the half and half, plus 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint extract). He absolutely loves it. Prefect for my little guy! MC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent!!!! Before adding the half and half, I put marshmallows on top and microwaved 25-30 seconds. Then added the half and half. The marshmallows REALLY add to the flavor. I will use this recipe from now on. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
What a neat recipe when we were wanting some good hot chocolate. I thought it was a bit too sweet so will reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup next time but otherwise follow the recipe. The thickness and chocolate flavor were spot on and I'll be making this again when the hankering hits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I loved the idea of making a syrup. Made the chocolate very creamy, and you can make extra and keep on hand. But .... it was way too sweet. I suggest much more cocoa and a lot less sugar. For 2 servings I used 1/3 C. cocoa and 1/4 C. sugar and half the milk. Still too sweet and needed more chocolate. A pinch of cinnamon adds a lot - just enough to not taste it overtly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of the 3/4 cup when I made this for my grandkids on New Year's day. They proclaimed it was the best cocoa they'd ever had, and I have to agree with them. It's a perfect treat on a blustery Wisconsin day! Thanks, Jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious! Arguably a meal! I leave out the half&half and let the person drinking it decide how rich or creamy (by adding half&half) they want it. I also make homemade whipped cream - 1 tbsp sugar per half cup of heavy whipping cream. It's heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made this for my 6 yr old & 3 yr old when we ran out of cocoa mix. My 6 yr old declared this the BEST Hot Cocoa ever and said we should never buy the store bought again. I definitely agree with her. This recipe is SUPER easy and delicious! Just be sure to cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup or it will be too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
During our last midwest snow storm, my husband turned to me and said "hot chocolate would be so good right now!" I agreed with him immediately, but knew I didn't have any packets or chocolate syrup. However, I just knew that my trusty ol' allrecipes.com wouldn't let me down! This recipe was a cinch to throw together and is so good that I have been informed I'm no longer allowed to make hot chocolate any other way. On the second batch, we had quite a bit left over and I was curious to see what would happen when it was refrigerated. So I poured it into a lidded mason jar and stashed it. The next day, it made incredibly delicious chocolate milk. The flavor is quite concentrated, so we cut it about 50/50 with milk. Very, very good! I haven't tried yet, but I'm sure it could be reheated in a mug in the microwave to enjoy a second round of hot chocolate. Wonderful recipe Jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States