Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This had good flavor, but even only using 1/2 cup of sugar seemed too much - it was very sweet. I also used evaporated milk as I did not have half and half on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great recipe but it was too creamy for me. Next time I'll add less half-and-half cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this with almond/coconut milk and a stevia/sugar blend and cut the sweetener by a third as other reviewers suggested. Delicious and I'd definitely make it again. I only made 1 serving. I dumped everything into my mug and put it in the microwave for a minute. Be sure to mix it well though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was sweet, the next time I made it I reduced sugar to half a cup and added 1tsp of vanilla? The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I have made this recipe several times! Great basic Hot Cocoa recipe. I've made it using only whole milk and also using half heavy cream. Fun recipe to play with and it's delicious everytime! I agree with the other reviewers, I only use 1/2 c sugar... brown sugar is my preference :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this for a chilly October cookout recently. It was a huge hit, & I had to make more. Have had multiple requests for the recipe. I used a 12 oz can of evaporated milk, & 2 1/2 cups whole milk, omitting the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Way too sweet as written. I'm glad I read some reviews first. Even 1/2 cup of sugar was too sweet for us. But the flavour is fine, and with heavy cream in place of the half and half, it had really nice body (my milk is 1%). It helps to use a good quality cocoa powder, both for flavour and to avoid bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Loved it! Made it just like it said since we prefer the sweetness to it and I grabbed Hershy's brand cocoa and turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I was craving hot chocolate on a cold, rainy Sunday, and I noticed the great reviews with this recipe, so I tried it. It was great! I took the advice of others and only added 1/2 cup sugar. I somehow forgot to add the vanilla, but I did add about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon - delicious! Rich, but not too rich. The half and half thickened it just a bit for a nice texture. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe shows homemade hot chocolate is easy and delicious. No need to break the bank at Starbucks. Like others, I cut back on the sugar. Want to really pimp it up? Add about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of cayenne to turn it into Mexican hot chocolate. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States