Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this using a mix of heavy cream and 1% milk. But the best change was the cayenne. While cooking the cocoa and sugar, I sprinkled about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon cayenne into that syrup. Perfectly rich cocoa with a zingy bite that lingers on the tongue after swallowing. That's probably why I didn't mind the amount of sugar as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
WOW this is awesome! I'm sipping some right now as I review this recipe. Used only 1/2 cup sugar, dark chocolate cocoa and instead of vanilla I used flavored half & half. I topped it with frozen whipped cream. My picky son loved it and my 7 year old neighbor said it was the best hot cocoa he ever had. Thank you I will be using this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This hit the spot on a cold winter night! I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup as suggested by others, and it was the perfect amount. I didn't have any half-and-half, but I did have some heavy cream, which I used with milk instead. The kids really enjoyed this, topped with a nice mound of whipped cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great for a Wintry Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not bad.... While I enjoyed this, I prefer Verushka's candy cane cocoa just a smidgin more (I LOOOVE anything minty). What I did like aobut this was the addition of half-and-half cream. I like my cocoa lukewarm. Adding chilled half-half cooled it down to a perfect drinkable temperature! My only issue with this is how sweet it was (but that's an easy fix). I will definitely make this again, but will be SURE to decrease the amount of sugar (or use all sugar substitute or a combination of sugar / substitute instead). NOTE: This recipe will give you 4 VERY small cups of cocoa. If you use large mugs like I do, you'll find that this yields more like 2 servings worth. I halved this (just making a cup for myself) and it filled my large mug with about 1/4 c. leftover. Topped with whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles. Thanks for sharing, Jeanie Bean! This was a great way to warm up on this chilly Midwest afternoon! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Me and my mom love to make hot cocoa but we don't do this recipe we use a diffrent recipe (Hershey styel).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
So creamy and delicious. Didn't have half-and-half on hand, so topped each mug with whipped light cream instead. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
way too sweet, 1/4 c. sugar was plenty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was very good once I cut back on the sugar. I will never buy the powdered stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Much better than premium hot cocoa mixes. CRAZY sweet, though. Next time , I'll use 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States