Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Good, but too sweet. Next time I'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Simple and elegant for a young musician's January social. Doubled it, and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is soo yummy! I love my Starbucks hot chocolate but this recipe is just as good!! I cut the recipe in half and reduced the sugar to just a 1/4 cup & it was plenty sweet enough. I also just added marshmallows instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLivengood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe is fantastic but I alter it slightly. It's a bit sweeter than I would like so I cut out some sugar and I don't add the vanilla- I think it takes away from the flavor. I also like my hot cocoa to be a bit thick so I add either some flour or cornstarch to achieve that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent! I've never made hot cocoa from scratch and it was incredibly easy and delicious. It was a tad too sweet for my tastes - and I love sweet stuff so next time I'll cut back a little bit. I'm never buying powdered stuff again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
this recipe was great it was just the right amount of sweetness and made my day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Best hot chocolate! It is chocolately, creamy, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I am sipping it, while I type this review! This has a wonderful, creamy flavor. I did REDUCE THE SUGAR and per other reviewers advice, used half a cup of sugar. Other that that, I followed the directions exactly as written, and did not change anything else. One thing I would recommend is DO NOT ADD THE CREAM TO THE BOTTOM OF THE MUG. When I poured the hot chocolate into the mug with the cream, it was not even lukewarm! That was due to the cream, being in the mug already! Add the cream AFTER you pour your hot chocolate, not before. In the directions where you add milk and then heat UNTIL HOT, I would HIGLY RECOMMEND at this point, BRINGING IT TO A GENTLE BOIL and immediately remove from heat. THEN, pour in your cream. FIVE STARS! Love this! Jeanie Bean, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JVelez0604
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
It is a little sweet for my taste. Maybe a bit more milk but otherwise fantastic!!!!!! Definitely my new "go-to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is delicious hot cocoa but a little too sweet for my tastes. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup like other reviewers did but still found it too sweet. Next time I'll use 1/3 cup and see if that's perfect. Topped with whipped cream this made a wonderful warm drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States