Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very rich and creamy! I agree with others that you should reduce the sugar if you are not a fan of super sweet. However, I did like it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
WAY too rich for my taste. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, and still found I needed to add 2-3 x the amount of milk before it was not too sweet to drink. Still a good basic recipe, but next time, I'll make the syrup, then add it to the milk to taste, keeping the rest of the syrup for a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Really really liked this recipe. I cut the ingredients in half to only make two servings. As others have mentioned...it was super super sweet, so I ended up adding more boiling water until it was to my liking. I added half and half until it was how I wanted it and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband was craving something creamy and sweet and tried to make one of those cocoa packets, but it was just awful, so I jumped on this site and "creamy hot cocoa" seemed to fit the bill. It took less than 10 minutes to make and was absolutely delicious. I thought it was a tad too sweet, so I will reduce the sugar next time. So glad I found this before Christmas, I shall add it to our rotation of holiday/winter beverages and will never be buying those awful packets again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Well, before I read the other comments, I decided to lower the amount of Sugar and cocoa powder. I didn't get 4 cups, I got 3, but it was amazing! This recipe is simple and so delicious! I used Peppermint instead of Vanilla (I didn't have any Vanilla) and it was still great! I would definitely only put 1 or 2 drops of Peppermint! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
made this with almond milk and plain soy yogurt instead with only a tablespoon of sugar...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This hot cocoa is so yummy!!! I pretty much followed the recipe except I just used milk no half and half and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I love this hot choclate it is amazing the only thing i changed was instead of 3 teaspoons vanila i did 1 teaspoon i foudn 3 was jsut too much i did 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1/3 because it was too sweet and i did 2 cups milk instead fo 3 1/2 and i did 1/4 cup half and half instead fo 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
tastes so good! and i followed the reviewer's advice to cut the sugar in 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
very good! wow! I was looking for a good recipie like that, and I found it!! Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 839) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States