Creamy Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I have made this recipe several times! Great basic Hot Cocoa recipe. I've made it using only whole milk and also using half heavy cream. Fun recipe to play with and it's delicious everytime! I agree with the other reviewers, I only use 1/2 c sugar... brown sugar is my preference :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this for a chilly October cookout recently. It was a huge hit, & I had to make more. Have had multiple requests for the recipe. I used a 12 oz can of evaporated milk, & 2 1/2 cups whole milk, omitting the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Way too sweet as written. I'm glad I read some reviews first. Even 1/2 cup of sugar was too sweet for us. But the flavour is fine, and with heavy cream in place of the half and half, it had really nice body (my milk is 1%). It helps to use a good quality cocoa powder, both for flavour and to avoid bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Loved it! Made it just like it said since we prefer the sweetness to it and I grabbed Hershy's brand cocoa and turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I was craving hot chocolate on a cold, rainy Sunday, and I noticed the great reviews with this recipe, so I tried it. It was great! I took the advice of others and only added 1/2 cup sugar. I somehow forgot to add the vanilla, but I did add about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon - delicious! Rich, but not too rich. The half and half thickened it just a bit for a nice texture. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe shows homemade hot chocolate is easy and delicious. No need to break the bank at Starbucks. Like others, I cut back on the sugar. Want to really pimp it up? Add about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of cayenne to turn it into Mexican hot chocolate. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
SWEET! And wonderful! Best cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
It wasn't the best cocoa i have ever had but it wasn't the worst either. I am still looking for that cocoa that tastes so rich and creamy that it really is a decadant treat. This wasn't that good. In fact, it isn't much different than the recipe on the side of the hershey's unsweetened cocoa. As I said it is good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jumping Branch, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
mmm!!! I tried 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was still really sweet so I tried it again and added 1 cup and it was great!!! I also used skim milk instead of half & half and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This has become my staple cocoa recipe--I'll never buy hot cocoa powder again. I found it far too sweet, but cutting the sugar down to 1/2 cup on my next batch made it just right. I also swap the vanilla at the end out for a splash of khalua, but it tastes great virgin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States