Creamy Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Great hot chocolate, but like other reviewers noted, use whole milk rather than water. For Mexican hot chocolate, add a tablespoon of cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of instant coffee. Gets very sludgy at the bottom so keep it stirred really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was sooo good! I used 2% milk instead of water that it originally called for. My Bunco group really enjoyed every sip of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I used 4 c. milk and 1 c. water, and tossed in about 2 T. of creamy peanut butter for good measure. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
The first time I made this, it was WAY too rich...even for me, the chocoholic!! The second time I made it, I used sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 cup cocoa powder, vanilla, salt, 1 can evaporated milk (not low fat) and 4 1/2 cups water, it made it really creamy and the cocoa taste wasn't overpowering. I'll definately make this from now on, with my adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
very good. quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I aggree with some of the other reviews- it was a bit sludgy on the bottom, however I will be using this as my staple hot chocolate recipe. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This was very good and creamy and much easier than other recipes. I will be making this again. Just be careful and don't overcook. I put it on low heat to keep warm and it changed the flavor a bit. Next time I will place in a carafe to keep warm. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I copied this recipe down for future reference and ended up using it this evening. It's a nice quick treat when company pops up, but it does get very gritty. It took me an extra couple minutes to fix because as I poured it up I had to use a strainer so people wouldn't have grit at the bottom of the cup. I added a little whip cream when I finished and PRESTO! It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the best homemade hot chocolate I've made so far but it just needed to be a tad sweeter for our taste... the coco was the overpowering taste and without the whipped cream it just wasn't sweet enough. But everyone really liked it so I'm going to make it again but next time just use alittle less coco. I liked this much better than the store bought mixes that you just need to add hot water too. **UPDATE** I made this twice since the first time and I now make it with 1/3 cup coco, 3 1/2 cups water and 3 cups of milk... It's PERFECT!!! The kids keep asking for it. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This was great!!! Will definitely be fixing this all winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States